Learn Fast or Die Slow

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As I was trying to explain the concept behind crypto currencies to friends or potential adopters, I couldn't help but notice a little bit of reluctance. From all of them. Well, almost. Some of them were curious. But the majority was reluctant and hesitant.

And then I tried to remember how I was doing in my first days of Steemit. I actually put aside a small list of tasks that I have to do in order to understand the potential:

  • how do you make money here?
  • how much money can you make?
  • how do you exchange these tokens for fiat money?
  • how can you make all these processes predictable?
  • how can you maximize the Return Of Investment?

And I realize it took a lot time to do all of these. Each of them probably took weeks, if not months (while I was still trying to make a living by doing something else, you know). Right now, I'm in a position where I can do all of the above on auto-pilot. Much like making myself a sandwich.

"How do I change Steem for fiat?", "Well, go to Poloniex, or Changelly, or Bittrex, sell for Bitcoin, or use a pre-paid card enhanced with ShapeShift and deposit directly. Oh, and let's put some peanut butter too on this sandwich."

But this entire process took time. A lot of time. And there were moments along the way when the process could have stopped. Because, at times, it was overwhelming. All of this is incredibly new and, to a certain extent, complicated and hard to grasp. But I didn't stop the process. I continued to learn.

What puts me now in the position to understand this opportunity better than the majority of my friends is not the fact that I'm smarter than them. Because I'm probably not. Or the fact that I already have more money than them. Because I certainly don't.

What puts me in this position is the ability to continue to learn.

Now, take a step back and think how it was 25 years ago, when the World Wide Web emerged. People were still reading newspapers. "What is a hyperlink?". "Can I write a letter to someone that will arrive in a few seconds? That's impossible, the post services are taking days to deliver letters".


The people who rode the wave of the World Wide Web weren't necessarily the smartest, nor the richest, but the ones who continued to learn. The same will happen in the crypto currencies world.


Adjust fast.

Or die slow.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running.
For the Steemit ecosystem I created a free tool for checking your potential rewards at steem.supply.

Dragos Roua


If you appreciate my contribution, you can vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

The title sums it up perfectly learn fast or die slow. Or just throw some money into cryptos and wait ten years.

Continue to learn is probably the singlemost important advice that can be given to a person that can help them change their life. Learning is irrespective of age or what mindset we're in, it just requires consistent effort. Thanks for sharing, helps a steemit noob like me.

I really like your topic. In my country, many people hate to earn new things after mid-age. They become poor and poor. So that they want to try something new like invest in different thing. But they do not learn first just follow the instruction in newspaper or people who call them expert. Then they lost everything!

"Adjust Fast or Die Slow" I love that caption. I guess I was like your friends who are hesitating, took me almost a month to join steemit and after joining in Feb, I found it pretty difficult so I took a time out...but here I am. I've got a grip of it now, still learning the curve but its quite interesting knowing new things in this world of crpto. Nice post @dragosroua

The people who rode the wave of the World Wide Web weren't necessarily the smartest, nor the richest, but the ones who continued to learn. The same will happen in the crypto currencies world.

This is so true and does a good job of summarizing the entire post.

Well done

"the ability to continue to learn" I can so relate to that phrase. I grind my way trough all those terms and technical stuff to understand every bit and part of cryptocurrency. All by also doing as I learn will let me 'feel' this whole new ballgame better. Like you said you don't have to think of how you make a sandwich anymore, you just do! Just like riding a car. One must just go trough this grind process to be able to start your own autopilot. Also when learning I find it still is difficult to tell others what I have learned. Guess knowing things for yourself is easier than explaining to others. You on the other hand expleaned it so well in this post. Thanks!

Yes, staying with the task longer than anybody else will teach you how to solve the task next time better and with less effort. Keep grinding, it will pay out!

I will, I strongly believe in all this so it really isn't that hard to continiously put in all this effort. Cheers!

Now imagine how difficult it will be to make people from developing and under developed countries to understand the concept of blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies. I just hope they adopt the new changes ASAP otherwise the economic gap is only going to get widened.

That's debatable. As a matter of fact, blockchain proved to be extremely useful specifically to those parts of the world, because lack of traditional infrastructure. In Venezuela, people are using Bitcoin instead of the national currency and I know about a project in Africa, where they made micro-loans backed with Bitcoin as collateral. So the world is changing.

Point taken...blockchain is indeed growing strong no doubt in that...the initiatives you mentioned are absolutely notable...Check out the latest internet penetration stats across the globe.


Source: internetworldstats

Looking at this chart it is clear that still 50% of the world's population don't have internet...so my concern is how they are going to take advantage of blockchain technology?

Mobile is changing everything.

That's totally the most asked questions to get our friends to tip their toes into cryptocurrency. Need to make them adapt into a habit.

how do you make money here?
how much money can you make?
how do you exchange these tokens for fiat money?
how can you make all these processes predictable?
how can you maximize the Return Of Investment?

Thank you for making these easier to understand.

Thank you very much for the good work you are doing here. With your love for continuous learning, I hope you and the developers of steemit will help sustain this community.

I agree fully with you
Thanks for great content
Steemit is a constant learning new things process ... one cannot live on memes forever ... we must all learn and mutate to take the $'s from the table

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78