Serendipity: Trusting Life's Amazing HardForks

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We're gearing up to start shooting the trailer for @hardfork-series. Looking back over my life, I've found the least expected turns have had the most profound outcomes.

When I was 10 I was at a party and the family had a video camera sitting around. I asked if I could play with it, if I was careful. Lucky for me, they had the confidence to let me. I filmed the whole party, and never really put a camera down for the last 27 years since.


(Future's so bright I gotta wear A.R. overlay goggle props from @hardfork-series)

When I was 17...

I finally made it to film school. I Hated it. The same week I decided to drop out I spotted an ad down by the school's camera rental cage looking for a fourth year students for an editor position at a multimedia group. I called them up and said "I'm a first year but I'm last year".

I got to tell my parents that I'd gotten a salaried editor position in the same conversation I had to tell him I'd dropped out of college.

A Cinematographer's Invoice

I quickly got bored of editing corporate videos and saw a cinematographer's invoice on a communal desk at work where it shouldn't have been. I decided I wanted to do what he did--and make $600 a day--instead of my $600 a week. But then I got sidetracked when my girlfriend at the time moved to Africa, so I quit the job and followed along.

Paying Off

My girlfriend cheated on me and I figured it out days before leaving for Africa. I almost didn't go but then decided to anyway because I was just too curious about where it might lead. I leased a $10k camera package on spec and spent a year in Malawi, suddenly understanding how the world worked, and more importantly how it didn't work.

I met a guy from Harvard who ended up hiring me on a side project (and later had me speak at the Kennedy school... first year college dropout that I was).

I then got a call a few days before I left from UNAIDS who were trying to get rid of the last of their year end and between that and the Harvard gig I ended up paying off my entire camera package by the time I landed back in the west.

With Friends Like That...

My long-time producer stole the script I'd emailed him from Malawi, taking my name off and replacing it with his own then entering a competition... and winning. I was apoplectic, but as a result of his actions was able to easily raise $50k to make my first narrative short film, The Straitjacket Lottery.

Round the World in 270 Days

When that same girlfriend cheated on me again, instead of breaking up with her I allowed her to convince me to travel around the world with her for a year (call it the folly of youth) landing back in America for my brother's wedding. I flipped a coin between New York and LA. (12 years later I'm still in the big Apple).

Bachelorhood

In the height of my mid-twenties-NYC-bachelorhood, I woke up from an alcohol-induced feverish dream. I wanted to go back to sleep, but I also suddenly had the framework for a film about my grandfather I'd been mulling the possibility of making for years. I told myself if a specific grant deadline wasn't imminent I could go back to sleep. Checking the laptop, the deadline was in 3 days. I wrote the script, got the grant and that film, Ten For Grandpa, changed my life.

But I nearly didn't let it

If it was up to me I would have bungled the whole thing.

As we were nearing completion on the rough cut, the Sundance Film Festival deadline was suddenly upon us. I told my business partner at the time, Eddie, who was one of the producers of the film, not to bother submitting, that we'd never get in.

He didn't listen, outputting a DVD and skateboarding to a fedex box with barely an hour to spare before the deadline. We got in. We went to Sundance...

...and I met my wife!


(directing a wedding on "Anniversary Present". Look at that hair!)

And Then...

I wrote an introducemyself post on steemit. It did better than I expected. This gave me the courage to reach out to
@ericvancewalton and @the-alien, then randomly meet @andrarchy and rope @bakerchristopher and the rest of an incredible team together.

And now we're a few days away from beginning production on the first stage of the @Hardfork-series.

The least expected turns have the most profound outcomes.

I used to call myself a secular Buddhist. Now I believe my religion is keeping my eyes open to serendipity.

Thanks Steemit!
Doug

P.S. this post was inspired by @ericvancewalton telling me last night that he's opening the next chapter of his life. Congratulations brother!


I am a Brooklyn based writer, film & commercial director, and crypto-enthusiast, my projects include @HardFork-series an upcoming narrative crypto-noir and my novel Dwelling will soon be premiering exclusively on Steemit, and you can check out more of my work at dougkarr.com, piefacepictures.com, and www.imdb.com/name/nm1512347

Please comment, up-vote and resteem and I'll gladly upvote your comments!


@hardforkseries


dwelling-novel

10% of all profits from Dwelling will be donated to Amnesty International.

Sort:  

What an incredible life story you have, Doug. This is a true inspiration to any creative person who is afraid to pursue their passion with all of their might.

Society and “the powers that be” do a very effective job of instilling fear in us and dissuading us, in the creative professions, from following our dreams. For way too many years I fell victim to those fears, I followed my dream but half-heartedly. Unfortunately, I can never get those years back but I can make the most of the time I have left. This, I intend to do with everything in me, incorporating all the lessons I’ve learned.

If we're awake and aware life is full of serendipity, it is educational, it is surprising, and it’s wonderful.

Thanks for this inspiring post, and your friendship. We're going to do great things.

Thanks Eric! I have a sense you don't give yourself enough credit in terms of following your dreams. I don't know too many people who have persevered in their artistic ambitions the way you have. The true measure of success is keeping at it, which you continue to do in spades!!

You have the drive and tell your passionate about what you do. Without those qualities people go through life never knowing who they can be.

Thanks so much @luckyfellow! Those words mean a lot.

Wish more people would look through that steemit glasses :))

I kind have been feeling that lately too. That I've been doing some of the same things for so long and not really making progress, because some of them are not really great fits for me. I've just been feeling like a professional goofball, but it's because I'm not in the right groove professionally at the moment. But I think like you're saying, the key is to keep your eyes and doors open, because you never know when the flood of inspiration will seize you. Sounds like your instincts have paid off more times than not, the rough patches in life only make you appreciate the smooth stretches all that more. peace

Totally agree @clumsysilverdad! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for sharing all these personal experiences with us to remind us about the path. You're brilliant and if I had to guess I'd say the best is yet to come!

Thanks SO much @the-Alien!! You're brilliant too!

I love this. Opening yourself up to opportunities is where the real magic happens.

Thanks @snowmachine. It certainly feels that way. When I first drafted this post it was just a bullet point list and in a sense looking at it like that gave me a good sense of the scope of how some of these unexpected triumphs, rabitholes and as you said real magic opportunities played out.

Doug you have a truly amazing story and I look forward to your HardFork project that you are currently working on with the other fine folks from this community. I do have two questions if you don't mind answering them.
Was your grandfather still around to see the film he inspired, if so what was his response to the film?
Thanks for putting it all out there ,
@sultnpapper

Thanks @sultnpapper, I often wish I'd been able to show him the film, if for no other reason than to perhaps get an answer or two, but sadly he died a few months before I was born. If you haven't had a chance to check out the film yet I linked to it in a post last month: https://steemit.com/blog/@dougkarr/hardfork-series-decentralized-filmmaking-is-the-jams

Thank you for your answer, I will most definitely give it a view.

Well i actually loved your life story from a wedding party to hardfork series :D

great post. keep steeming

Thankyou for sharing @dougkarr

Thank you for reading @nazarwills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67