Another day in paradise. First Baby turtles released here in Cancun ๐Ÿข๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜˜

in #life โ€ข 7 years ago

Our hatchlings are starting early this season. So far we have already seen more than 4 times the number of turtles come to shore to next than the whole of last season!!! So many we have had to expand the safety corals for the nests!! Here's a few photos of the latest babies. ๐Ÿข (Photos from CancunTurtles and my own, dedicated to conservation in Cancun)

IMG_1466.JPG

IMG_1467.JPG

IMG_1465.JPG

And heres some pics of the big mommas.

IMG_1469.JPG

IMG_1468.JPG

IMG_1471.JPG

The extended coral at the Ritz Carlton

IMG_1470.JPG

And lastly my dad @keith11walker and my chihuahua 'Loco Frodo' watching a tired new mum to be make her way back to the ocean. โค๏ธ

IMG_1472.JPG

Life is good! This is my garden! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜

Wishing my fellow Steemians a wonderful day!

Sort: ย 

Amazing shots of the newborn turtles! I'm glad someone is taking care of them :) @donnaincancun
Upvoted, followed and resteemed, you are doing great!!
I just made a post about the problems of our plastic in the oceans, would appreciate if you have a look at it in a minute of your free time:
https://steemit.com/animals/@ddot/plastic-the-serial-killer-of-the-oceans-spreading-awareness

Keep doing what you do and I wish you a great day!
@ddot

I just checked out and resteemed your post! I too am very conservation aware and everyday here im always cleaning up trash from the beach. The ignorance of tourists drives me crazy!

Amazing, at least some people do something about it :)
Appreciate the resteem
Greetings @donnaincancun

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd โ€“ learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Wow!! Thank you! You have my permission to use the photos.

Omg I love Cancun/PDC. Have not been there for years. The envy is pretty strong at the moment :)

Upvoted and followed

Awwwwwww well I hope you can return soon to paradise!

Beautiful post, nice baby turtles.

Thanks. You'll have to come to Cancรบn and see them yourself one day. There is a huge abundance of turtles this year! It's nice to know our conservation efforts over the years are working.

They are so cute (even the big ones)! And a much happier ending than my latest turtle story.

So cute! Mexico is on my list of next destinations.

Wow...breathtaking pictures and I love people who are cleaning up trash from the ground! Follow and upvote ;-) Have a great time over there! Soon we will emigrate to Costa Rica. Once a year lots of turtles visit the beach to lay their eggs. They say it is like the biggest natural event and we have to see it. I have no doubt :-) Take care!

I love Costa Rica!! I always say if I was to move from Cancun it would be to there! Such a beautiful country. You will love it!!

It takes turtles about an hour to lay their eggs. The whole process from entering the beach, finding a nesting space, laying the eggs, covering them and returning to the ocean. It's a really special experience to watch for the first time. Im like the turtle police always telling tourists not to pester or disturb turtles until they have finished laying their eggs and are returning to the ocean.

Turtle police :D That's how it should be..I mean as long as they don't disturb our woman while they get a baby we should leave them alone and just enjoy the show.

I agree...I really think i'm going to love Costa Rica!

Schildkrรถten sind einfach mal sooo undfassbar sรผss, vor allem die Babys, richtig putzig <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40