My experience | Learning to get over parent divorce

in #life6 years ago (edited)

family-3090056_1280.jpg
[image source: pixabay CC0 licensed]

Being a victim of living with a single parent can be so saddening and sometimes confusing. When my parents got divorced, it was like a dream at first until it hit me so hard that I couldn't handle the situation. I got so cold especially when people ask after my parents from me. I then concluded that my parents were selfish, they didn't even care about how I will feel about everything. And this made me feel worse that it began reflecting in my day to day activities and education performance.

But as I kept growing up over the years, I learned to accept reality and built my mind towards positivity in order to move on with life. Today, I will be sharing with you guys who might be experiencing the same situation on how I overcame everything.

Firstly, I had to accept reality as I stated earlier on. I got to accept the fact that my parent are human who is also imperfect like I am. I also got to accept the fact that change, as they say, is constant because even while I was young, my favourite toys which I loved so much became obsolete and I never cared for it again. Same could happen with the love that people claim to have for each other.

Secondly, I learnt not to hold onto grudges. I forgave my parents for not caring to know how I will feel before taking such action. I did so by learning not to judge them as I come to understand and accept reality.

Lastly, one way I got over this was by discussing how I felt with close relation and friends as they helped in consoling and encouraging me. This really helped in lowering my anxiety too.

Getting over parent divorce is like you recovering from a broken arm, it might be painful but you will eventually heal from it. I hope this post is helpful to someone out there.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

Oh dear.
I do not know how painful it must have been for you getting over your parents being divorced but one thing I know for sure is that you're strong.
Not many can deal with that.
So who do you live with now?
Dad or Mom.?
Beautiful article for those who find it difficult to accept their parents decision.

Thumbs up Donefezy

Posted using Partiko Android

I live with my Dad and it hasn't really been easy. The motherly love is absent

Oh dear. I'm so sorry. I wish I can say I understand but I really do not.
Let me give you motherly love 🙈

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, there's more to it. I will chat you up on discord if you are interested in knowing

I am interested in knowing please.
Do chat me up, it'll be well appreciated. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Donefezy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@donefezy I commiserate with you, as this is never an easy subject! My own dad disappeared and me and my two sisters grew up with only my mom and my gran. I was a small boy and the only "man" in the house. Divorce in those day were seen as very sinful and subsequently we were rejected by all and sundry. My way of overcoming was to become my own man, walking my own road, learning life's tricks by myself, such as fastening my shoe laces etc. and I have remained such to this day! No one to blame and life goes on! Blessings!

We have a lot in common. But in this case, my mom is the one who disappeared. It's a pity we both are experiencing this, but we have no choice as this is what life has to offer. Thank you for sharing with me your story. I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81