Independent Philosophy: Apeiron

in #life7 years ago

10/10/17 Blog Post #1

Over the past few months, I've amassed a few pages worth of stream-of-consciousness type personal writings that have to do with the mysteries of being alive, and not only being alive, but being alive as a conscious human being with a sense of self. This notion of being a human rather than anything else in the world, such as a blade of grass or a snake, has always fascinated me ever since I was a child. I don't exactly aim to answer such a question, as I believe the question does not really have an answer, but I do aim to throw my thoughts out into the world and see how it is received.

This post simply serves as an introduction of the content and some personal background info about who I am.

Firstly, I am a 20-year old college student based in Monroe, Michigan with a passion for all things nature and philosophy. I've always been fascinated by questions of why things are the way they are in this Universe which we live, and equally fascinated at the ability of human beings to discern their place in this vast cosmos compared to every other living being.

I grew up in Woodhaven, and began hopping on and using computers when I was 2. One of the first games I played was an old Macintosh game by the name of Apeiron, an arcade shooter which was essentially a rip-off of Centipede with mouse controls, and it was one of my favorite games. "Apeiron," the philosophical concept of "the infinite" and "the boundless," also eventually became one of my favorite concepts to think about, along with Alan Watts-inspired polar thinking.

When I began college, I was immediately entranced by philosophy in general, and really just hooked me with interest to the point that I began to create my own philosophical viewpoints of the world, albeit mostly through rushed scribbling in school notebooks between classes. It's those scribblings, along with some proper editing and clarification, that I hope to one day make publicly available through this website - and the collection will thenceforth be known as Apeiron.

If you're interested in content such as this, feel free to follow me and resteem this post!

Sort:  

Congratulations @doctorcitrus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @doctorcitrus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40