My Knives #22 Kiritsuke - a Christmas miracle (almost)

in #life6 years ago

Scene: 1999. Tuesday 6 PM - unknown date, 24°C, 3rd year of college
Classical period, an old-school professor giving a lecture on a topic that "...won't be in the exam, but...". She's strict, serious and boring as fuck. You know the type - "No questions during the lectures!" and all that goes with that kind of attitude.
The classroom was designed for 20 students - there are 43 of us in there, 21 from my year and 22 from the 2nd year.

I bet I could find a truck to throw myself under in next 5 minutes if I just get up and walk out of here. This can't be the way I am supposed to spend my golden years.

Looking around the classroom

Look at this nimwits, actually listening to this crap. Not one bright-eyed person in here. Half of them are actually taking notes - FFS.

Screams loudly in my head - This will not be in the exam!!!!

Oh, and what do we have here? Weird Harry-Potter- looking-kid reading a book.
I the room full of buttlickers pretending to be interested, this girl is seating on the window two rows from the professor reading a book and not giving a damn.

A not-at-all discrete "Psssst" broke the harmony of the perfect classroom. Almost everyone's head turned in my direction and the professor gave me an one-eyebrow-lift-above-the-glasses look. I've managed to get the attention of all but the book girl.
"Pssssssstttt" another one - this produced 30 something offended looks (like I give a shit about them) and finally she pulled the eyes of the book and gave me a what's-your-problem look.

"Wachya reading" - I lip-mounted.
She rolled her eyes and turned the cover toward me - Rober Jordan Wheel of Time.

Yey, a friend!

"Coffe?" - not as quietly as I intended.

She just gave me a nod and went back to her book.
...

And that's how our almost 20 years of friendship started.
She was some 4 years younger and couldn't have had a different background if orchestrated.
While I come from a poor family where a high school diploma was considered higher education, her's was a family of medical doctors. My childhood was spent in a basement without running water, hers was in a down-town (and I do mean down-down-town) high sealings and floor-heating residence with a view.
When she was learning Latin and Greek, I was learning how to scam local deadbeats for a drink or a cigarette.

Me studying archaeology was how-the-hell-did-he-get-in-the-college, her studying the same was a big disappointment to her folks with almost daily why-can't-you-be-like-your-brother-and-study-medicine.

And guess what we, clicked in a second - an instant friendship. No, slowly getting to know each other, no weird moments, nothing physical - just two people who felt natural to spend time together.

After some thousand coffees, hundreds of books, a lot of digs (that's when you dig up dead people and their stuff from the earth), life finally caught up.
I got a job, then a different one, and not in any way related to archaeology, she actually got a job at the [AMZ]http://www.amz.hr/home.aspx and spend much of the time in the field. So, eventually we lost our daily routine, then a monthly, and finally ended seeing each other once every two or so years.

It's not a sad story or anything like that - we are still good friends and every time we get together we just jump into our friendship as if we haven't spend any time apart at all.

Somewhere in our last biennial hiatus, I started making knives and, of course, she was thrilled about it. "We should get together, have a coffee and catch up on things." But she was on one dig or another, and I was Spain, or France or.. Always something.

We finally got together last month, when she visited me in my workshop with her daughter, I made some coffee and we had a blast.
And, she wanted me to make her two knives: one for herself and one as a gift for her brother in law.
I probably wasn't paying attention, and got the gift part wrong. I was sure it was for a Christmas gift.

Then, last week she called to ask if the knife is ready - it was Wen.
Apparently, she needed the knife on Saturday when it's his birthday.

Naturally, I haven't even started the build thinking I have three weeks.
I was planning to take two days off and work on one of the orders but not hers.

So what can you do, I told her - OK I'll call you on Friday and let you know how we stand.

In my mind I was thinking - Fucking hell you doing Doc? There's no way I can make a knife in two days!

So that's exactly what I did - I build her in two (well, two and a half) days.

The build

Just out of the heat-treatment - 3rd from the right
IMG_20181110_180911.jpg

Done on the grinder
IMG_20181206_120714.jpg

Some hand sanding
IMG_20181207_143234.jpg

Choosing the handle materials
IMG_20181207_112913.jpg

Handle from the first dry-fit to last coat of oil
IMG_20181207_125133.jpg
IMG_20181207_162920.jpg
IMG_20181207_205702.jpg

The final product


Sorry only phone pics no time for a propper photo shoot
IMG_20181208_133354.jpg
IMG_20181208_133400.jpg
IMG_20181208_133337.jpg

And that's it - I've saved the friendship ;) I made a personal record, she was thrilled and brother in law was speachles. All in all - good work Doc.

We gonna get together soon to give her the knife I'm making for her, and then in a year or two, we'll pick up where we started some 20 years ago.

Sort:  

Amazing :D All in 2.5 days !! You are incredible :D Good on you for saving the friendship, AND beating your own personal record :D :D :D

Love this post very much, Doc !!!!

Thank you @veryspider, it was a fun if a bit stressful build ;)

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you guys ;)

Lovely story. Some friendships become only better over the years like good wine. Your present will consolidate your connection.
What wood did you take for the handle?

Thanks, and yes indeed they do.

Wood: Golden Phoebe - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phoebe_nanmu

Wow, never heard of it. Your handle might last longer than the blade :-). Beautiful wood, indeed.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54