How to Make a Knife #2 - Materials

in #life7 years ago

OK, so you got your tools ready, and you are itching to get started making your first knife.

Let's look what you need of the materials and I'll drop a few tips on how to get them.
These are the four most common ingredients for a knife:

  1. Steel for the blade
  2. Wood or some kind of composite for the handle
  3. Some kind of barrel-like object that you can use for pins
  4. Glue to help things stay together

shop.png
My workshop in I-should-really-tidy-up-soon phase

If you really wanna go old school you can ignore 2-4 and just use steel - we'll cover this when we get to design.

I. STEEL
I've talked a bit about steel in my Handmade knives 101 #1 post, and actually, I won't elaborate too much on all the steels in general in this session. I'll just keep to the ones I think should be used for your first knife project - simple high-carbon steels.

There are two basic ways of getting your steel: you can buy it, and you can recycle.
Although making a knife from an old file is almost a must for your first knife, there are actually no advantages of using recycled steel. This is especially the case if you live in the US, and I'm guessing Canada...
If you live in one of those two countries just skip this whole paragraph and go to Wallmart or whatever hardware store is near to you and buy a bar of O1 tool steel.

For the rest of us, the process of acquiring steel is not as easy as buying a botle of milk. But before we get into how to buy, let's tackle the topic of what to buy.

Now, you could go and buy yourself a bar of San Mai made of stainless Damascus and some kind of super powder steel, but you will probably fail in your first attempt, so let's keep things simple.

If you've decided to buy your steel look for something really simple in chemical composition - nothing with Chromium.
The more complex the steel is the more trouble you'll get in when you go to heat treatment.
So, look for O1 or 1080-series or their equivalents. Those are the steels that you can heat treat with almost no problems at home.
As I've mentioned before, if you are in the US you can basically walk to any hardware store and buy O1. If on the other hand, you live in Europe you will have to do your research to find where an how to buy.
Luckilly, there's a fair chance that you are not the first one looking for them so sniff around knifemaking forums and I'm sure you'll find whole lists of places that are nearby or deliver to wherever you are.

OK, but what if I don't want to buy steel - or you live in some of them shit hole countries© and steel is not easily available.
Well, you can recycle.
The upside of recycling your steel is that you can find some good quality steel just about everywhere. The downside is that you can never be sure what kind of a steel you got, and that can make heat treatment a bit tricky.

Best choices for recycled steel by your favourite Doc:

  1. Files - the older the better. Don't use cheap new files because they are probably case-hardened and no good for knives.
  2. Saw blades - same deal - the older the better.
  3. Spring steel from, well, springs - you will have to forge them so if you don't have the means just use first two.

Go to a flea-market and buy some old files, or go to a scrap yard, bring a 6-pack to the guy(s) who work there and they'll have a bunch of usable steel for you in no time.
IMG_20171202_104627.jpg
Some Damascus and 1095 I've bought

IMG_20170902_143604.jpg
This is a bowie I did from an old file.

saw.jpg
Saw-blade - my favourite source of recycled steel

II. Handle
You can use just about anything for a handle material. Wood is my favourite, but there are plenty of modern composites that can be used for handles: G10, micarta, Corian...

Just find something you like or have in your garage and use it.

Tip - parquet or any wood that is used for floors is probably your best choice - it's flat, not to thick and it's usually pretty.

III. Pins & screws
Brass, copper, stainless... round bars or tubes will work just fine. There is also quite a selection of screws that are appropriate for knifemaking or are actually designed for it. Just look around and be creative - I'm sure you'll find something.

pins.jpg
Some pins at the back

IV. Glue
I use two-part epoxy, you can probably get away with something else, but honestly, it's not worth the trouble. Just buy some decent glue and you'll be just fine. 5-min epoxy is OK, but spend some extra $ and you'll have more time to get things right. In my experience, 5 minutes is way to short time-frame for getting it right on your first try.

OK, I'll give you a few days to get all of this and then we'll start making your first knife.

If you haven't, check out the first post in this series The Tools You Need.

And as always, feel free to ask any questions or leave a comment or two.

Sort:  

I've always had a fantasy with creating some blades from my favorite movies/games. But i guess the biggest challenge is how do you cut the steel? What kind of machining do you need, or do you heat it up and hammer it down by hand?

Your safest bet is an angle grinder with a cut-off disc - you can get the small ones really cheap or borrow one from your friend. You can find more info in my What Tools You Need post.

You could forge it to the approximate shape, but for a first knife, I would stick to cutting and grinding.

Cool. It is really nice to see that your workshop also have a I should really tidy up soon phase. My workshop seems to have been in that phase for more than half a year now. Regarding steel, yeah its also quite a hassle if you need something a little out of the ordinary. I have found it fairly easy to find c45/1050 equivalents but if I want to go higher in carbon (and of course I do) then it gets complicated. For knives its possible, but for swords I need bars of at least 1m. and most of my "local" knifemaking suppliers dont stock them that big. Anyways I have gotten by so far , but I would really like to find a place where i could buy 1080 in 1000X30X8 mm or similar.

Try looking at some Italian suppliers. Write me knfitaly at gmail, I send my links
A greeting, nicola

Actually, I wouldn't mind a few good contacts myself :)

Oh man, this was almost a photo-setup compared to what my shop can look like after a whole day of grinding 😂

Steel: yep it's a hussle, especially here in Croatia. I have to order everything across th border.

I do have a source for 1095 if that's not out off your range
https://www.highgradesteel.co.uk/products
Check the bar - I think it's jut the right size
Talk to Sam - he's a cool guy

OK thanks. I will definitely check it out

great post, very nice!
Among the recyclable steels: leaf springs of the machines and bearings of old trucks
A greeting, nicola

Yep, springs and bearings are a great source of steel, but they generally have to be forged down or strait so I was thinking that for a first knife tutorial it could be too much.
I'll cover them when I get to forging sessions.

Really cool. I never considered making a knife but it’s on my list now. Thanks!

One down, few 💯 k to go 😂

Glad to got your interest, stick around - my.plan is to push this through to the end.

A few of the following posts in this session will probably be videos

This post has received a 5.82 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @docsmith

Bok @docsmith pridruži nam se na novo podignutom Discord serveru za Hrvatske Steemit korisnike, detaljnije o ideji možeš pročitati u linku ispod
(ispričavam se ukoliko si već tamo, ovaj komentar post-am po redu svima)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ivan.atman/official-croatian-discord-server-is-up-and-croatian-steemit-association-is-up-hrvatska-udruga-steemit-korisnika-husk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27