How to Make a Knife - Ep01 - The Profile

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I've decided to make a series on how to make your own knife using handy tools, or the ones I'm guessing everyone can easily get their hands on.

Cutting Out The Knife Blank





As always, not only do I show some skin I've also confirmed my lack of filmmaking skills.

You know what, screw that - I am an awesome filmmaker it's just that my style is a bit unconventional. I am sure my videos will be praised a few decades in the future when the world catches up.

Anywho, in this episode, I'm showing how to get the basic knife profile out of a steel bar using an angle grinder and a cheap file.

If you get the motivation to make your own file because of this video, be sure to check my old posts on what you'll need to actually do it.

How to Make a Knife #1 - The Tools You Need
How to Make a Knife #2 - Materials
Knives (handmade) 101 #6 Design - How to Get the Knife Out of Your Head

Episode 02 will be about making bevels and drilling holes so stay tuned.

Thanks for stopping by, and feel free to drop a comment below if you have something to say.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi @docsmith! First of all, your work is so admirable and amazing!

I am part of the 3-person @cookwithus team, along with @chefsteve and @pandamama. We are looking forward to connecting with you soon.

Thanks in advance!

Thank you!

It's always nice to hear a kind word from people who use knives ;)

Looking forward to hearing from you guys.

Thank you so much for your wonderful offer of a knife for a prize. This would be great for our winners circle - we can work out a way to make this a great addition to our prizes for them. What is your discord number?

Also give Viewly a try - it's a new decentralised video platform. You can find them on alpha.view.ly

You are welcome and thank you for your generous upvote.

My discord no. 2734

Very nice post! Max upvote

Tnx man, much appreciated!

Sir @docsmith you have shared such a useful post about knife making. Thanks for sharing Ep-1 and we are earnestly waiting for the next episode.

It's dr. DocSmith, I didn't spend six years in Evil Medical School to be called "Sir," thank you very much.

:)

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Thanks guys, much appreciated!

@glenalbrethsen you've mentioned you would like to see the tutorial...

Yes I did. Look like a lot of filing by hand! Very impressive. And rocking The Punisher shirt and the ripped shorts!

I would imagine that you end up using some of the knives you use, but do you sell them, too? If you mentioned what you were doing with this particular knife when you finish it, I missed it.

Pretty amazing, though, and it looks like you've got some interest in the tutorial from some others, too.

If you gonna be dirty and have bloody knuckles you might as well wear Punishers scull ;)

I do have a few of them in my kitchen, mostly the ones that didn't quite make the selling standards. The majority do get sold, or end up as gifts.

Actually, I was thinking of making some kind of a giveaway with this one. Something simple like -comment to get a chance of winning a knife.

I like the giveaway idea. If they're done right, and periodically, they can help build your follower base. At the same time, you can get followers just looking for free stuff, so tricky deal, but still not a bad idea.

Okay, so a little bit of everything happens with the knives you sell. Still, I'm sure there's plenty of value in the ones that aren't quite up to snuff, and if they have a certain character about them or a flaw, that's still unique and something you can use to gauge your work with, I would imagine. Plus, there's always going to be a story to tell about each knife, why you made it, how it was putting it together, how it turned out and what happened to it after that. Plus all the simple pleasure you derive from doing it.
The bloody knuckles and scars are a bonus, right? You don't have to tell anyone how you got them, or you can embellish a little. "You should see the other guy's face!"

Giveaway and followers - I know, but then again of my +600 current followers only maybe 10% are actually active so even if I do get a few new ones that are just in for a chance of free gift, I could get 1 or 2 that I will appreciate in the long run.

Knives - the thing is there is no such thing as a perfect knife, so even the ones I do sell have a few things that could have been done better or differently.
The ones I'm leaving for myself are fully functional but have some mistake that caught my eye and then pronounced them as not good enough. They are still better than most of the knives you can buy in a store - general one, not a knife store.

And, yes each knife has a story and is a nice memory.

Bloody knuckles, fingers legs... yep. People who don't know me do look at them strangely - especially if they see me in my working hours - all suited up :)

The stories - no one really believes me anymore :)

I gave you an up-vote.
Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45