My Week

in #life7 years ago

It has been a long week. I really want to devote more time to steemit (and I was), but this week has left me exhausted and sore.
At the beginning of this week, I got the call that my grandpa was dying. I've seen him a handful of times in the last 6 years (even though I live 15 minutes away)...
I left my family's religion when I was 21 and since then, most refuse to see me unless they can try to convert me back during the conversation. I haven't been invited to my family's thanksgiving or any celebration since then. My sister got married a year ago. I sent her a text a few weeks before to let me know the date, so I could ask off at work. No date came. Instead, I got a long email, explaining why I could not come unless I came back to "The Church".
Anyways.. I went to see my grandpa at the hospital. He was unresponsive and appeared to be failing fast. As soon as I arrived in his room, I hear the whispers all around me. Like a bad trip. Maybe I'm just imagining it but I'd swear, they all start whispering to each other every time I enter the room.
The next day he came out of it and seemed to be doing pretty well. He still had heart failure but was fairly lucid. So they sent him home to relax and spend his last bit of time in a familiar place.
While the family stayed around, I went to work cleaning his property. Mainly clearing paths around his woods. I was always near in case anything happened. On Wednesday, I was heading back to the house after cleaning up and my sister came running down the driveway to let me know that he had just died. I'm still very angry with him for the way I've been treated but I have to say, I broke down for a minute. As angry as I was.. After all the shit I've lost because of their need to be right.. I can only think of the good things now. He was my best friend when I was younger. He could be a mean, angry guy but I always felt like he laughed more when it was just him and I. He gave me my work ethic, that has helped me work up to 3 jobs at times to support my family.
Today, after the funeral, a few members of my family sat down and had lunch with me. Which they've all told me in the past that they can't, because it's apparently a sin. I even had a nice night hanging out at my parent's house with my sister and her husband.
So I am completely confused at the moment. I don't know if they're chilling out.. Or it's just going to go back to normal in a few days.
So instead of pictures of hiking and my daughter.. Or talking about refrigerator boats.. I'm just gonna leave you with a picture of my grandpa and I. Even though he hated anything "foolish", he loved my mohawk.

FB_IMG_1498883440941.jpg

P.S. I'm not saying that religion is bad. You can believe whatever you want and you don't need me to tell you that. Just don't tear your family apart over it.

Sort:  

Wow! I am so sorry to hear that! It's so tough losing a grandparent, as they are like your favorite people as children. I hope your heart heals and you are able to cope with the loss of your grandfather ❤

Congratulations @dismemberedhippy! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22