How vaping changed my life

in #life7 years ago

smoking.jpg

Disclaimer: This is a personal story. Although I do mention some products inside, I'm not paid to promote them. I do not say that vaping is completely harmless. It is less harmful than tobacco products, but not 100% innocent. These views are my own, through personal experiences. Please do not pick up vaping if you are not addicted to nicotine, and if you do start vaping without being addicted to nicotine, please make sure you choose eliquids with 0mg nic.

I started smoking while in high school. It was the era that "smoking is super cool" and while there were studies about smoking & cancer, the antismoking campaigns were not that big as today. I started with one cigarette per day, and ended up 30-35 cigarettes per day. My lungs were not very happy about this! Given that I had a lot of bad times in my life, every time something made me feel bad, sad or whatever, it ended up adding a couple more cigarettes per day. I won't examine the amount of money I was giving every day, it's not the point of this post.

vaping.jpg

In 2011, while I was on a cafe with friends, one of them pulls out a mysterious device pressed a button and started inhaling it.

  • What is this?
  • An ecig!
  • And what's its purpose?
  • Well, to quit smoking, or at least cut down on my daily number of cigarettes
  • Oh, I see. How much does it cost?
  • I bought the device for €50 and the eliquids for €5 per bottle (10ml).
  • Tell me where, I want one. I smoke way too much.

I did my own research and bought a similar device. I ended up vaping the first 10ml bottle in less than 24 hours! Dude, that's expensive! But it's for a good cause, so I don't care.

I ended up smoking 5-6 cigarettes per day (from 35!) and using 4-5ml of eliquid per day. But the device wasn't that strong (it's like the one on the image above) and I gave up vaping because "it is not satisfying me" after 8-9 months. Another friend told me where I could by cheap eliquids from a store about 10 minutes from home (didn't know that shop!) and I started it again. I spent countless hours in online forums reading about eliquids, and I found "DIY" - Do It Yourself liquids. But still, didn't have a good atomiser and I quit it again. Of course, when I stopped vaping, I started overcompensating with cigarettes. A 50g pouch of roll your own cigarette tobacco wouldn't get me through the second day!

I found a better atomiser that had a lower resistance rating (meaning more vape, throat hit and satisfaction). I reduced once again my number of cigarettes to 10 per day. But still not 100% perfect for me. To make matters even worse, when my grandpa died, I couldn't get sad (well, "Men don't cry" they say and after listening to this phrase over and over again at home, at school, at almost about everywhere out there, I had to keep it inside me) so I started smoking more, without cutting back on vaping.

vaping-1675916_1280.jpg

A few years later (about 1,5 years ago), after my lovely pet bunny passed away, a friend gifted me a regulated mod (Joyetech eVic-VTC mini) and I bought a better atomiser (an Eleaf GS Tank). A few days later, I almost stopped smoking. I was having a cigarette with my coffee in the morning before work and one while returning home. That was about it. Still not 100% perfect for me, but it was a huge improvement. I became friends with the owners of the store and we tried to find the perfect atomiser for me. Whenever they brought a new atomiser, they told me to try it.

When Joyetech's Cubis Pro was released, I believe in June or July of 2016 in Greece, I found the perfect atomiser. I completely quit smoking a few days later! That's almost lie, I was having a cigarette once or twice a month with a beer, but even doctors will tell you that 1 or 2 cigarettes per month will not do you any bad (that is, unless your body is already full of problems). But still, I was smoking 25gr of tobacco per day and I managed to almost quit it with an ecig!

I haven't had a cigarette for 2 months now. My breathing, my taste, almost everything got better for me. I can see it, I can feel it I'm healthier. I no longer pant when I walk long distances.

If you are a heavy smoker, please do a favor to your loved ones, and at least try to cut down on your cigarettes. Ask a professional for guidance, or pick up vaping. It has a learning curve, but it worth it. Go to a store that have demo of their products to try (not only eliquids, but atomisers as well). If you put your mind at it, you will make it. Of course, if you can completely quit smoking without vaping, do that instead, that's the best for you. But if you are like me, and you can't find the will to quit it altogether, vaping is the path to go.

There are a lot of "studies" that conclude in something like this: "Our results suggest that e-cigarettes might be just as bad as cigarettes" and if you read more carefully, the most studies state "[...]most vapers where also smoking regularly". Do your own due dilligence and decide for yourself.

Sorry for the long post!

Image sources:
Vaping pic
Second vaping pic
Smoking pic


If you find that I add value to the network and I'm being helpful, please upvote my posts and also

Vote me for a witness.

You won't see me on the page, as I'm not in the top 50 witnesses yet, so get to the bottom of the page, fill my username (dimitrisp) as shown in the image below, and hit "VOTE"!


Sort:  

Μπράβο μπράβο μπράβο!!!
Κάθε φορά που ακούω κάποιον μα κόβει το τσιγάρο νιώθω πάρα πολύ όμορφα και επίσης νιώθω εκείνη την άγρια χαρά που ένιωσα όταν το είχα κόψει εγώ.
Κάπνιζα από τα 13 μέχρι τα 40. Τότε δεν υπήρχε ηλεκτρονικό τσιγάρο και έτσι το έκοψα μόνη μου.
Μου είχε γίνει ένας πολύ μεγάλος βραχνάς και το μυαλό μου είχε κολλήσει στο να το κόψω υποφέροντας.
Έκανα δύο προσπάθειες πριν χωρίς μεγάλη επιτυχία αλλά στη τρίτη τα κατάφερα μειώνοντας συνεχώς την νικοτίνη επιλέγοντας ελαφρότερα τσιγάρα.
Κάποια στιγμή μετά από μήνες που κάπνιζα πλέον σκέτο αέρα , με έπιασε το πείσμα και είπα ...έως εδώ και ένιωσα μέσα μου ότι ήταν η τελευταία φορά και όντως ήταν.
Δεν χάρηκα αμέσως αλλά μετά από 2-3 βδομάδες που πραγματικά μ,ου είχε φύγει η διάθεση να καπνίσω.
Ένιωσα ότι απελευθερώθηκα από μια άθλια εξάρτηση.
Δεν σου κρύβω ότι μετά ήθελα να με δαφνοστολίσουν.
Θεωρώ ότι είναι μια πολύ μεγάλη υπέρβαση γιατί ουσιαστικά είναι ναρκωτική ουσία απλά είναι νόμιμη.
Είναι μια πολύ καλή αρχή για να δείξουμε αγάπη προς τον εαυτό μας και σεβασμό προς τους άλλους.
Μπράβο Δημήτρη

Είναι πολύ δύσκολο, αλλά πρέπει να γίνει! Χαίρομαι που τα κατάφερες :D

Εγώ δυστυχώς νομίζω πως δεν ήμουν τόσο δυνατός για να το κόψω μαχαίρι!

Sept 11, 2009 was my last cig after 10 years of smoking. I switched over to a crappy cheap ecig with some super potent juice. I killed a few of em over the next half a year but by the end of 2010 i had stopped using it. I am finding myself wanting a new rig but feel it is not in my overall best interest.

The ecig helped me save me from myself.

That's my target too, but right now with so much stress in my life, the moment I stop vaping I know that I'll go buy a pack of cigs.

Congrats :)

Bountiful post will dony

I changed over to vaping as well, I'm using an Innokin Coolfire IV mini one of the best things I ever did, gone are the days of waking up to an hour of coughing to clear my lungs, my breathing is completely clear now and I feel much fitter, I no longer smell like an ashtray and I can comfortly sit watching TV without getting up and going out into the cold to smoke (I never smoked in the house) yes they aren't completely innocent, you're still inhaling chemicals but it's the lesser evil. I'd advise any smoker trying to quit to give it a go.

Nice one, looks cool! What color did you get? :)
I'm still using my Evic-VTC Mini, and I'm happy with it!

With the next paycheck I will switch to an Aspire Nautilus X, I tried it from a friend and it's awesome, but as I'm used to Temperature Control [the Cubis 1Ohm coil is SS316] it will be a little bit difficult for me.

I have the blue one. I find it great, I used to have the original coolfire IV but it was enormous like carrying a brick around. The tank design on this one has a great 100% non leak design and the coil literally screws in and out. Its very easy to adjust the coil power as well with the LCD display and controls.

I'm sure there's loads of great mods out there but this is the best I've found.

I'd also never use a mod that can't adjust the coil power because all liquids have different consistency, the thin liquids can take a bit more power to get a good vape cloud, the thick liquids need a little less power because at high power it seems to just burn the thicker liquids.

Vaping is better than smoking no doubt in my mind

That's awesome, I'm glad it's working out for you. I used to smoke cigarettes too, but now I can't imagine taking up the habit again. Only downside is that now I can smell them a mile away, lol.

I was a chain smoker and a friend of mine didn't like this habit of mine. He gifted me Arizer Solo 2. It took me a while to adjust to it but I have never smoked cigarettes or any nicotine since 2017. Only dry herbs. I feel healthier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35