Use Simple Self-Hypnosis to Fall Asleep

in #life7 years ago

Try This Easy Self-Hypnosis Routine to Fall Asleep Quickly

You've had a lousy day. Maybe your boss said something nasty or the mailbox contained a letter from the taxman. Sometimes everything is fine, but your active day just wired you up so much that you can't get your brain to calm down enough to allow you to sleep. Very often, the hardest time to fall asleep is if you wake up in the middle of the night. One remedy that has worked for me almost every time is a simple self-hypnosis routine.

Preparing for Sleep

If you want to fall asleep, it's usually a bad idea to turn on the TV, radio, or any other electronics. Every time I fall asleep with the TV on, I end up waking up in the middle of the night; however, when I keep the room quiet, I'm much less likely to wake up until morning.

Just stretch out in your comfortable bed with your arms either folded on your belly or at your side. Let your eyes close naturally. That's all you need to do to get ready to hypnotize yourself to sleep.


Self-Hypnosis Steps

Here's what you need to visualize in order to fall asleep:

  • Imagine that a warm liquid is entering your body through the soles of your feet.
  • This warm liquid immediately relaxes your muscles. First your toes relax, then the rest of your feet, and then the liquid slowly fills up your feet and makes its way to your ankles, your calves, and your knees. (Honestly, even when I'm wired, I almost always fall asleep by the time the liquid gets to my knees.)
  • The warm liquid not only relaxes your muscles, it also soothes them. Achy feet and calves feel soothed as if they are having a water massage from the inside to the out.
  • Keep the water flowing up your thighs, to your pelvic area, into your belly, your chest, and then both down into your arms and up to your neck and head. Focus on the muscles that the warm water caresses and allow them to relax and heal.

What if You're Still Not Asleep?

If you're still not asleep once your body is full of the warm, healing liquid, imagine that you are at the top of an escalator. Step onto the escalator and feel yourself descend. Don't think about anything but descending the escalator. If you reach the ground, turn to the next escalator that you visualize and travel down it to a lower floor.

More Tips to Help You Hypnotize Yourself to Sleep

If you find yourself interrupted by an urge to urinate, you'd better answer that call. Perhaps, the next night you need to fall asleep, you should take longer in the bathroom to make sure that won't be a problem.

This routine works better each time you do it. I think because I've done it so often, it works quickly for me because I've programmed myself to react to it by following asleep.

You must focus on relaxing, the warm water, and your visualizations. If you find that your mind keeps returning to some problem or the next day's schedules, focus back on your hypnosis session.

Some folks do better with an audio self-hypnosis program, and you can find some on YouTube or from other sources. I'd rather not leave electronics on, so I'm happy to be able to have this DIY self-hypnosis routine.

Any Self-Hypnosis Tips For Beating Insomnia?

What works for you. Help me and the SteemIt community with your suggestions. If you try this, please let me know how well it works for you. I always respond and usually upvote relevant comments. Thanks!

Sort:  

When I was about 16 years old, I listened to a self-hypnosis recording a few times. I memorized it, and I also believe it's a lot better to "play it in your head" than to rely upon recordings. However, I also agree that it helps to use a recording if you need to when you are starting out. Great tips. Thanks!

Yeah, I just get more distracted by leaving the phone on than I would if I leave it off. You're right, though. It's a good aid for newbies. Thanks for stopping by.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @digitalmutt to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @theinsideout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61