You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why There Is So Much Negativity On Social Media and How To Fix It

in #life7 years ago

Most of us have not been taught the skills to appreciate another's joy. So when Johnny shares about his promotion, people who have not been taught how to experience unadulterated joy, will find jealousy instead. On the other hand, people who have been taught to feel their feelings without worry about an authority smacking them down for their giddiness, will be able to share that joy right along with Johnny.

To relate to someone else who is sharing his joy is a skill, just like breathing, walking, talking, reading and writing. A more enlightened view of Johnny's sharing of a promotion could be something like, "Wow. If that could happen to him, that could happen to me." It is this exploration of the positive experiences in life that keep me coming back to social media.

Yes, I see all the negativity, but I don't let it represent life as I know it. As an analogy, rather than watch the news, I'll watch "Lucky Dog". I just change the channel or change my mind.

This is something that I have come to enjoy about Steemit. Most people here are pretty upbeat and civilized. Even in a contentious debate in the comments section of a post. That is what keeps me coming back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43