Positive Lights In The Darkness

in #life7 years ago

The world is very dark right now. The horrific mass shooting in Florida is just the latest in so many pieces of bad news. So I decided, in attempt to help myself cope that will maybe help others, to point to some positive things, here and elsewhere.

universe-1044107_640.jpg
Image credit: geralt on Pixabay

Over on Twitter, author Sarah Gailey wrote an incredible thread about the mammalian diving reflex. It is both informative and entertaining.

Here on Steemit, the terrific @katrina-ariel wrote a lovely post about loving her Steemit friends, and included me!

Mannabase launched their blockchain based universal income solution. And I have no idea how or if it'll work, but I appreciate the initiative. I signed up, and this is my referral link if you want to sign up through me. And here's a vanilla link to their site.

Back here on Steemit, @shawnamawna is pretty much all about light in the darkness. Follow her, she's amazing.

Over on the tweets, WeRateDogs are still rating dogs. All dogs still rare more than 10/10. They're good dogs, Bront.

This one's in Hebrew, and very niche, but a post went up today praising the work of some translators, including two of my best friends, and... well... me.

My twitter pal and wonderful author Kat Howard won the Alex Award, given to books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, for her terrific novel AN UNKINDNESS OF MAGICIANS.

Okay, that's all I got. Sorry. Do you have positive lights to add? Comment with them!

Sort:  

I'm glad I wrote that post before I heard about Florida. I probably wouldn't have written it otherwise. Not that there aren't a lot of other Very Bad Things happening in the world, 'cause where to start? It's overwhelming, especially when we know about all the things more-or-less instantly because we're plugged in.

For me, I have to focus on the beauty, and what I can do personally. I can breathe, and love my family, and take comfort in nature. I can hold a vibration of peace and compassion. I can send love to the world. These are things I can do, so that's where I start.

(Oh, btw, that thread by Sarah Gailey was fantastic! Thanks for sending me over for a read!)

That makes sense. I couldn't write a real positive post tonight. That's why I collected positive things from the internets. Because I did want to put a bit of light out there at a time which is incredibly oppressive for so many reasons.

Thank you for this mention. It's been hard to be anywhere but Steemit with the darkness. Now I have other places to look and am honored you would point people to me.

I know that feeling all too well. And sending people to you was an easy choice, and well deserved.

I have my own light - here in Rehovot - soon I'll be over with the exam in genetics and the reason for me being awake learning in such hours will be over - sorry for not reading your post thoroughly - I must learn some more :) good night!

Just loved it! Just Resteemit so my followers can leverage the knowledge shared in this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80