Memory Boxes, the Paradise of Happenings, in which the most ancient memories reside.

in #life7 years ago

Memories are so precious to us that we choose to store all sorts of things in boxes as cute and unique as possible. Airline tickets, receipts, love cards, souvenirs, are just some of the things that we store.

We store things to keep alive memories that we do not want to give up. Every time we discover them, we revive the memory. 


I could say it's a vintage version of a social media account, but it's more private and more complete. Preserved memories are not selected depending on the image you want to display, but according to their importance to you. If there's a picture of you at a party, where you had so much fun that you got drunk and dumped yourself naked into the sea, then you should store it, but in a box with memories that has a lock. Or if you still have the diary in which you talked about your first love, that's where it belongs. The box is personal and it's only yours, for your soul.

As far as I'm concerned, I kept from love letters from childhood to poems or simple drawings created during some boring classes. I do not have a box, I think I have 10.

In each of us, there is a desire to keep as much of the past, not wanting to let it pass, even if the things we preserve are no longer of any use and should be discarded normally.


And not everyone keeps the same things. Most of them keep memories, but there are others who, besides this, keep something else too. For example, my husband has an impressive collection of receipts. In 4 years he has collected 3 boxes with them. While my mother and grandmother have collections of colored or simply plain and elegant napkins. Every time I go to a café with special napkins, I assure that I get one for my mother. As far as I'm concerned, I used to collect matches for up to 200 models. They're now in boxes and I've been more busy with storing memories.

But what happens to the stored memories?

Storage of memories has a dual meaning. On the one hand, we want to keep them alive, but on the other, we have resigned, we are determined to go further, to create new memories. The truth lies somewhere in the middle.

The reality is that memories enter into a kind of vegetative state. They live in the box, but in fact, it may take years to open those boxes, depending on how often you get melancholic.


If Happenings were alive and had feelings, then the boxes would be some kind of a graveyard for them and the memory would be Heaven. On the other side, it would be Forgetfulness.


In fact, any random happening that is called a memory is important because it means it was not forgotten. Not every occurrence becomes a memory. That would mean we can relive our life as a movie that would last about ... yes ... a lifetime.

People have the ability to record an infinite number of memories, but man chooses to store only one part, he is selective, but even more, he sometimes also takes some memories out of Heaven with the help of Forgetfulness.


There are people who can recall down to the last detail happenings of their lives- they are the ones who left a partition in their mind-computers, dedicated to memories and fill it with them. And there are those who choose to get rid of them, leaving more space for new files.

How do we distinguish a random occurrence from a memory?

It is an ultra-fast and involuntary process. We do not stop to reflect about which occurrence is more meaningful and we do not submit them to an analysis. It simply happens. I assume that memories are the happenings that have had a greater emotional impact and not those that may actually be useful to us later. Memories make us who we are today.

But memories are not the accurate reproduction of events, as it is known that we change them unconsciously throughout our lives.


And time is the intermediary, the test to which the memories are subjected, which will decide whichever will be given to Forgetfulness and which will stay in the box of memories- in the Heaven of Happenings, where the most ancient memories reside.


Images: 1,2,3,4,5


Don't forget to follow for more!

Sort:  

Wow. Cool article. An interesting perspective on memories.

Thank you very much! 😊

Great article. I myself have been going thru this very process. I chose to get rid of anything which makes me sad and keep everything that gives me a feeling of joy. My partner passed away just over 2 years ago and it has been rough..but as soon as I let go of the pain and had a garage sale, I reunited with an amazing friend who has brought me such joy that I had no idea could exists. I finally took the time to really get to know him and then the magic began..this may sound cliche, but until we close old doors that no longer serve us, the new more exciting doors start swinging wide open for us. feeling happy and content..

Wow... you really had it rough... I'm sorry. But I'm glad you found the power to move forward. Thanks for sharing!
You go girl!

Actually with every experience in life, I learn new lessons and grow stronger. That is why we chose to come here..to learn and grow through our experiences.

"If Happenings were alive and had feelings, then the boxes would be some kind of a graveyard for them and the memory would be Heaven. On the other side, it would be Forgetfulness."
Was this quote taken from somewhere or did you think of it yourself? Excellent post!

Thank you!! I'm glad you liked it!
No, it's my own... thought about it after having a discussion with my husband about the subject I should write about. :D

Wow i love this. It's nice and captivating.

Thank you for the nice words! :)

The envelop. What is the content of the letter?lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43