The Cost of Ambition

in #life5 years ago (edited)

The Cost of Ambition.png

I wrote yesterday about this profound moment I had when I was alone in my hotel room. That sudden shock I felt when I left a place and the people in it. It has been a long time since I've had that kind of weird feeling. Perhaps it's just one of those days when I'm suddenly getting sucked into the existential vacuum. The thing is I've stopped traveling for a while and I'm used to my own routine and being on my own now. But I guess it was still nice to have those deep emotions revisiting and allowing me to reflect on the past and my own life. Those feelings make me human. I was the one who came in and out of other people's lives and it just made me realize what I was really lacking. I never really belong. It is as if everything is just a passing show, but that's just life right?

I found this quote the other day which perfectly fits my life right now. The only reason that I'm alone in that moment is ambition. Ambition is a funny thing. A lot of these things are true to me and I can still add a lot to the checklist. I can't relate to people anymore probably because they don't understand the way I live. And for that, there's a lack of deeper connection. There will be lots of acquaintances but very few trusted friends. I've learned that most will doubt everything I do but that's just people. Where I am, even the word "ambitious" is usually used to mock someone. Someone who aims too high and thinks highly of himself or herself. And here, that's a bad thing, you have to level your nose with everyone else. People are used to whatever there is and I'm in a society where the focus is not really the "Self". If it's just intent, it's mockable. It's rare because people don't really believe that someone can do everything on his own. Intent means very little and I really have to prove myself through actions. Only until then people can shut up about me. Most people secretly or overtly want me to fail. And for that, I cope with the lack of meaningful connections by grinding more and just focusing on achievement. This sounds familiar in modern societies and this is how it feels.

I look back and realize how a lot of things have changed. Isn't it surreal that a simple moment can bring me a lot of realizations about my choices in life? I could have not been alone right now. I could have been with someone I dearly love. I could have been enjoying some time with friends in one place. I could have had a stable job and living an all-too-comfortable and all-too-secured life. But, I've let go of everything all in the name of ambition. I followed my own adventurous path to see whatever there was out there for me. I took the hero's journey. And so, here I am. Nothing grand though, just being Me.

Now do I regret everything? Absolutely not. I am what I am right now because I know exactly what I want. But, I knew what I was getting into right from the start. I felt like I had signed a disclaimer saying that if I am willing to take on it... everything will pay me back 100 times over, but, there will be consequences to my life choices. The price of ambition is high, the sacrifices are high. If the focus becomes the Self, the cost would be too high.

However, never in my entire life have I had such a strong purpose and belief in everything that I'm doing. For the first time, I'm in control of my own path despite the challenges along the way. For the first time, it's all worth it. It's all worth the hard work, sacrifices, and disappointments. To see something that I really work hard for slowly comes into fruition gives me a deeper sense of fulfillment. A sense of meaning. I am going in one direction and I can tell that I really like where I'm headed. I no longer have to live my life by default.

I know there's still a lot to improve in Me. I am not yet successful and I am still on that road. But I know that success can be quite addicting. It can also be dangerous for it will never be enough. As I get more out of this life, I will also find more ways to cope with the emptiness. I've accepted that I will do most things alone and at some point, I will find myself questioning my own existence. Questioning the point in all of this. I know that the price would be that I might die inside. I am aware of what possibly could happen but I know, there's only one cure...

img src

Sort:  

Questioning the point in all of this. I know that the price would be that I might die inside. I am aware of what possibly could happen but I know, there's only one cure...

I have been in this place before, and I can say that the bit about dying inside is a legitimate fear... But what I can also say is... that once those parts of you are dead, you won't miss them. It's strange, the person that I have been my whole life... a life that was sadly lived following the "straight and narrow" path of life... He's gone. That path ended in death and destruction. I wasted 20 years playing it safe, and doing the sensible thing, and the result was complete ruin. I wasted my life for nothing.

In the last few months, now that I have dedicated my life to doing what makes me happy, and letting all the world be damned... I've never been happier. I've never felt more fulfilled. I've never felt more ALIVE... And it is quite addicting... and frightening, and uncertain... and that's completely okay by me. The one thing that I have found... is that Freedom and Security are like oil and water. They simply do not mix...

And always remember... you can choose to settle down and 'play it safe' any time you want. All you have to do is stop adventuring... The opposite is not true, however... Getting your momentum back, and getting out there on the Road of Adventure is much more difficult than stopping.

Follow your Glory, dear... I can't say that you will never go wrong, but godsdamnit... at least you'll be going -somewhere-...

In the last few months, now that I have dedicated my life to doing what makes me happy, and letting all the world be damned... I've never been happier. I've never felt more fulfilled. I've never felt more ALIVE... And it is quite addicting... and frightening, and uncertain... and that's completely okay by me.

Beautiful words and I am really happy for you. I completely understand because I feel the same! I am really glad that I choose this new path too. Freedom is not easy, but I'd rather have it than stagnate in the all-too-comfortable and all-too-safe! No longer living a meaningless life of playing it safe.

Freedom and Security are like oil and water. They simply do not mix...

Truth. Thank you for the kind words! And yes, at least, I am going somewhere this time.

It is as if everything is just a passing show, but that's just life right?

Yes, it is. For some reason we spend much of our lives being told how much we need another...and we do...but we also need to be comfortable with ourselves, and realize that there is little permanence in life. People come and go. Life changes. Some people feel like they belong in our lives...like we've known them forever...but even they often must eventually go. If we're lucky, it's only after 40 or 50 years or more. If we're not so lucky, it might only be a day. If we're really unlucky, we might find that even though we feel like they belong...in truth, they aren't good for us, and we spend weeks in emotional torment.

It's important to learn to enjoy life no matter what the circumstances. Sadly that skill is so rarely taught anymore.

I followed my own adventurous path to see whatever there was out there for me.

Such is commendable.

Good luck on your journey forward. May you find the path that leads to the future that you don't even know you may seek.

but we also need to be comfortable with ourselves, and realize that there is little permanence in life.

Truth. I think the most important thing is to be comfortable with ourselves first. We all need each other but then we have to accept that nothing is permanent in this life. Easier said than done though, humans need to feel attached to something. If we don't feel that, it's something to be alarmed about too. We are not born to be psychos.

We all want to belong to some place or people. Most would rather be with company in prison rather than be alone in paradise.

Well, paradise without people is just a hot beach with nothing to do.

Though I'm not too certain why so many think of beaches as paradise. They're fun occasionally, but they burn your feet!

"But I know that success can be quite addicting."

That really is the truth and I think that drives a lot of people's behavior when they keep pouring themselves into work even after they seem to have a lot. It feels good to be doing well or to be working toward doing well and that is not something that people like to give up, even if it does have it's costs at times.

I agree. Once I've tasted what it's like, there's no turning back.

It is always difficult to be different. And it would have been easier if you just follow the herd and do whatever the rest are doing.

But life is too short to be just part of the masses. Persevere and I think you will find whatever you are doing rewarding when you succeed

Posted using Partiko Android

But life is too short to be just part of the masses.

True words. I find no meaning in just following the herd, life would be too easy as you said!

Thanks for the encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87