Save The Living

in #life6 years ago (edited)

14566468_10154598493788711_442910441190946397_o.jpg

Is man merely a mistake of God's? Or God merely a mistake of man?
― Friedrich Nietzsche

My uncle who works in a church told me that the minister will come down to hold a funeral service for my mum. It has been a long time since there was a death in the family and I really have no idea about anything. When I was a kid, I just attend the funeral service and didn't have to worry about the realities that come with death. The adults took care of all the expenses. All I had to do back then was to grieve and be present. Now as an adult, I realized that I was unprepared for all the things I have to deal with, including the need for a funeral service. I have not been a fan of organized religion for a long time but I respect my family's chosen belief and tradition.

The minister didn't come down to the city even after making the commitment to my uncle. Secretly, I was feeling mad. This is just one of the many reasons I do not like religion. Aside from its power to separate people, break relationships, disown children, scare people, kill the innocent, divide people, and cause war. When I've decided that I am no longer part of the church and that I'm adult enough to freely think on my own, I lost some friends. It can be hard when you live in a country where people ask what your religion is before your name. You have to hide your newfound freedom in order not to get stoned or persecuted in public. You just can't arrogantly flaunt your lack of religious belief in a die-hard religious country. You can choose to have or lack of, a religious belief but still behave like everyone else in order to survive.

I guess the only thing I miss about the church is my times with my grandmother and mum. I subtly expressed my disappointment about the minister's lack of sense of responsibility as I did not want to disappoint my mum's brother. One thing I hate the most is when someone cannot keep his or her word. It says a lot about the person. The expected minister did not have the initiative to inform us that he would not be able to come for whatever reason. Good thing there were not many visitors at that time, but my sister insisted that we still hold a funeral service. She said that it didn't seem right without one. We found another minister closer to the area who was willing to make the prayer service or something. But again, I was also disappointed.

I thought funeral service is supposed to be a way of saying goodbye to someone who has sadly passed away. This is when we get the chance to say the things we want to say in front of everyone or share our thoughts about the passing. And I know that for some people out there, prayer would not make any sense anymore. We don't know if the person is still hearing us or the spirit is still roaming above the ceiling and looking down on us. Looking down on us for choosing to continue this painful existence.

I knew the reason the minister was there, it was to save our lost souls. Deep down, even though my mum could not hear him anymore, I would still like for him to offer some farewell words or something. Any words that will make us feel a little bit better. But instead, he focused more on saving the living, that we accept whatever we need to accept so we can be in the right place after death, also called heaven. Excuse the word, but I did not appreciate the marketing part or the need to convert people so we could attend his church. I knew that was the goal. I wanted to scream to tell him what I know but I just didn't of course, out of respect and politeness. I wanted to tell him that this brief event is not about converting people but it's more for my mother and remaining loved ones. So I was just there listening. It was like when I was a kid, I used the whole boring sermon time to just imagine and let my thoughts roam while staring at the fancy chandeliers. It takes a great deal of life experience and courage to block these ideas that I no longer fall for the same trick. I no longer let some deluded individual to have total control over my life. The idea of existence is absurd enough for me, and I don't want to confuse myself even more by accepting unproven ideas. I think religion was just created due to fear of death.

I don't usually write about religion because it is what makes sane and intelligent people irrational. It is such a sensitive and trollable topic these days that people would even kill or die for it. But I must admit that lack of religion, belief or any kind of spirituality in your life can be difficult. It's hard to cope with death. It makes you feel utterly lost and confused. It's like accepting ourselves going back to nothingness in the end. All I know is that we don't know anything for sure. But the limits of my mind is what makes me think that there is something infinite out there.

Sort:  

Religion is not only some sort of belief, but also it has to provide solution of the problem that we face today. I think it's a lifestyle.

A lifestyle, yes.

I think religion was just created due to fear of death.

Exactly how I feel. It always gave me a weird feeling that the pastor/minister seems to use the funeral service as an ad for all those non-believers who " need to get saved" of "find Jesus" before we die. I believe in Universal Mind or source energy, maybe that's god, maybe not. No one should be telling anyone else WHAT to believe.

I believe in Universal Mind or source energy, maybe that's god, maybe not. No one should be telling anyone else WHAT to believe.

I agree.

"One thing I hate the most is when someone cannot keep his or her word."

Same. It is always worse when someone says that they will do a thing before not doing it.

"All I know is that we don't know anything for sure."

Truth.

Every person have different opinion about religion. In my honest opinion Our acts are the real cause of religion infamousness. Religion teach you love humanity and we are doing otherwise. Any way different people have different opinion.

Our acts are the real cause of religion infamousness. Religion teach you love humanity and we are doing otherwise.

That's true.

Could not agree more! Religion is a divide and conquer tactic. Funnily I've read a lot of religious book like the Bible, Bhagavad Gita and Parts fo the Quran. They all basically say the same thing yet people argue which one says it better to me that contradicts everything the religious books say. Kinda amusing in a wayI could right a whole post here so will stop haha. Spot on though 💯🐒

Kind of amusing too that there are different heaven and hell for everyone lol. Even after death, people are still divided.

Yer that's is argue over everything. People should just live for now 💯🐒

It is kind of absurd that the people who follow someone who was stoned himself, would stone another... the hypocrisy is real. I would have been very upset as well. This is about saying goodbye and at the same time respecting your mothers wishes. Stop advertising and trying to scare people into being a paying customer for the rest of your life.

I know, it was like I wanted to just interrupt and say, please stop advertising. Please stop scaring us about hell.

Also, there is a reason that WE are paying you... and it is not for your own agenda.

True!

boom. first vote. I am going to be rich!

Aren't we supposed to wait 30 minutes before voting? Or is there anything that has changed here on Steemit I don't know about lol?

lol... I got no clue. I just saw it 10 seconds after it was posted and wanted to be #1. I am going to be rich for very different reasons than that vote ;)

I'm happy for your wealth. May you spread it here on Steemit lol.

That is pretty much what I can do for now on that front (sigh)

I do not dare say anything. Because I do not want to raise conflicts because of religious topics. for me my religion, for you your religion. Greetings of peace.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76