Private Property

in #life5 years ago (edited)

P_20190511_161954_1_1.jpg

I was visiting my city to take care of a property that my Grandfather left us. It turned out that he was not able to transfer the title since my dad passed first. My grandfather was not able to transfer the title to my name either since I was still a child at the time. And according to my uncle's wife, he didn't like my mum very much so in the end, the land was still under his name. According to our law, my two other uncles still have rights to the land. It is quite sad that all his other properties were given to my cousin and uncle. Everything was taken care of when he was still alive. My mum didn't care very much. Sometimes I wonder why my Grandfather didn't think about me and my sister and all our hardships growing up. Are we really that bad?

This is not such a big property but I am still hopeful of something from my parents. My sister didn't care very much but given my instability, I still care about things like this. I am planning to buy a small property on this island because it's hard to move on with my business if I'm still paying the rent. I just want to be rent-free, that's all I want. A friend once told me, better without a job than without a house.

My other uncle passed away years ago, I still have one uncle left. Their wives claim that they are not very keen on getting that small property. I highly doubt that. My friends told me that they are quite greedy since they already have everything, houses and lots here and abroad, yet they still don't want to give that remaining land to me and my sister. There's really nothing much I can do and I doubt that they will waive their rights. It's all about the money.

It would not make sense to divide the property because it is not that big. I was just getting annoyed with my Aunt's lack of consideration. The lawyer told me that since the mother title is still under my grandfather's name, all siblings still have rights to the land. At some point, I was arguing with my aunt. She told me that we didn't follow up while my grandfather was still alive. I said I was young, what did I know about these things? And my mum only cared about her loneliness back then. I was thinking that they could have given the small property if they really wanted to.

We made a decision to sell it according to the current value and divide the money into three. I couldn't afford the inheritance tax anyway and all the complicated process of transferring. And my relatives are very keen on making money off something that was supposedly ours. I think this would be a better decision since I don't plan to live in the city anymore. There's no point in focusing on what could have happened and all that. I just hope that someone will buy the property the right price soon so I can move forward. And hopefully, I can buy a piece of property here on the island and live happily. Maybe it will take some time but let's hope for the best.

Sort:  

That's a tough situation. I guess you soon learn what your family is like in times like this. But, hopefully it will be sufficient for you to move on with your life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it's tough. I just hope the property will sell soon.

I truly hope this will turn out really good for you @diabolika; family can sometimes be complicated enough even without the economics involved ;-) Anyhow: I'm glad to see you're still alive and kicking here on Steemit! :-)

I really hope so too!

I'm glad to see you're still alive and kicking here on Steemit!

Glad to see you're the same! :)

Uncles... I have my bitter experience with mine as well. Maybe in your case everything will turn out well.

Maybe in your case everything will turn out well.

I hope!

Hey, I'm glad to see you back.

"And hopefully, I can buy a piece of property here on the island and live happily. Maybe it will take some time but let's hope for the best."

I think you will get there.

Hey @artisticscreech, it's nice to see you're still here!

I think you will get there.

Thank you!

Thanks. Haha yeah my work schedual has been pretty crazy lately where I go in at 2 am one day then 1 pm the next so writing regularly has been a little tough. We are both still showing up every now and then and thats whats important though.

Yeah that's a crazy schedule.

We are both still showing up every now and then and thats whats important though.

Right!

I hope that works out for you @diabolika.
Being a land-owner would be pretty sweet!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Cool cat :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64