Movies that Somehow Distracted Me From/Awakened Me to Real Life Issues

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last year, I proudly posted that I don't own a Tele - for many years now actually. I also don't have a Netflix subscription. I even stopped heavy torrenting films because it's probably bad - nah, I just don't have a fast internet connection anymore. Now, where does this leave me? Either I stop watching films regularly or I just keep on repeating the ones I like. If I have a lot of things to do, like write for my website, I'll just go to bed mentally tired and without any other forms of life entertainment.

P_20181012_203816_1.jpg

Movie time with Feliz! Hero film for him but then he fell asleep...

I was very anxious last night, as I tend to be, due to all things business. Yesterday, I was ranting about Paypal and how this company is giving me a lot of stress and anxiety lately. However, whether I like it or not, I still have to put up with them because most of my clients will pay via PayPal anyway. I have this deep need to resolve this money matter quickly for me to be able to focus on writing for my website. I think my favorite term for that is called 'mentally-taxing'. Yes, it is mentally-taxing to think about other equally important things at this point.

I went back to watching movies to give myself a break. This is not to slack off or be depressed, I just badly need some form of distraction at the moment. And to my delight, I still have some unwatched movies on my hard drive. However, not all movies are meant to entertain me for sure. I'm probably less dumb now or I just lost interest in anything so typical. Some movies just made my eyes roll aggressively especially those that tend to distract the masses big time, like the hero and fantasy films. Not a hater though, those are just probably good as popcorn distraction or something. My exboyfriend likes to watch those superhero films, and when we finally broke up, I'm just done watching those. Sure, not all are bad. There are a few that are not the typical hero movie with a glorious ending.

Anyway, I ramble so much about hero movies when in fact I've only watched one this week, and it's just because my cat likes the popular action genre while I'm a sucker for indie films. Here are some of the movies I've seen that somehow distracted me from/awakened me to real life issues.

Bonus: I added my favorite quote from each film!

The Breadwinner

I'm not really a big fan of animation but this one is different. I gave this film a chance that it actually made me tear up. It's not a full on drama, the characters still find humor, hope, escapism, and happiness despite the reality of war and the Taliban. It's more of a political film as it depicts the harsh realities away from your pampered domesticity. It's not for everyone as most shallow people out there hate foreign films with some deep meaning that might wake them up to the inconvenient truth. The movie is about some characters you wouldn't normally care about. It's a story that is too far from your couch that your judgment issues will work straight away just by reading that it's not in English and not about the heroic white people. This film tells the story of a daughter forced by circumstances of her world to hide her identity. Her father was wrongfully imprisoned so she pretended to be a boy just to provide for her family in a Taliban-controlled village.

Favorite quote:

We will not be a burden to you. We are skilled and strong and need little by the way of means.

Doctor Strange

Some Marvel movie fans out there and alarming patriots will hate me for this harsh review. I usually like to pay attention while watching a movie. I stood up to drink water and checked the door if it was locked without even pausing the movie. This one is quite predictable so it does not need my whole attention anymore. It just happened that I have been running out of unwatched downloaded films, as like I said, I needed to distract and entertain myself with yet another typical Hollywood cheesy scene. Surprisingly, this has a high score on IMDB, probably because of the visual effects, digital trippy art and all. Basically, it takes the hero's journey myth. There's a talented yet selfish and arrogant person set to trial and loses his strength. Seeking redemption, he finds his mentor. Then, of course, the mentor dies in the fight. The apprentice seeks revenge, wins the battle, and there's a girl to make it all better for the hero. It's the same old formula as we know it. It's also political because it's the same old depiction and portrayal of the alpha males of this world - like I no longer fall for it. I'll just give this film a praise for the psychedelic art and for a great job the geeks have done to make this film visually impressive. And also, for all the attempts to be eastern and spiritual. I think filmmakers should try harder because it just does not fit. By the way, I also aggressively rolled my eyes for that wifi password lame joke.

Favorite quote:

Death is what gives life meaning.

Hotel Salvation

Yet another foreign film that does not appeal to those who cannot speak or understand more than one language. It's a dramatic yet funny story about a man's father who stays in this shabby hotel on the banks of the Ganges looking for salvation. The father thinks that it's his time so he decides to go on a spiritual journey and wait for his death. But then, it's not something that he can control. During his whole stay in the hotel, he gets to spends more time with his son, granddaughter and even meets a new friend who is also awaiting her death for many years. This existential film portrays that death is more of a salvation and a cause for celebration. It's freeing the soul from the whole cycle. Even though death is a serious topic, there are satirical moments throughout the film to keep up the light moments. It will make you realize how simple things and conversations can be good entertainment, and provoke you to think deeply at the same time. This film is truly relatable as it's not something about the typical Hollywood middle-class families. It lets you meditate about your own life and death in a simple and funny way.

Favorite quote:

Death is a process.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 107 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Some interesting choices I will be checking them out. I am not one for the hollywood films and superheros too preferring something with a little more meaning. I often check out Sundance festival for films http://www.sundance.org/watch/sff18-films.

Then not having a telly I streem them takes less internet speed too 👍🏽 http://www3.fmovies.ag/home.html you just have to close a few pop ups but then it work like a dream 💯🐒

Wow, thanks for the link! This is what I need!

Haha I never got into many of the super hero movies either (somehow I always end up seeing them though).I was always more of a comedy, satire, or drama fan myself.

I have seen Doctor Strange but I have never seen the other two. Maybe I should check them out.

I would have a hard time coming up with a list of meaningful movies, I think. There are so many good ones that I have taken something from. Office Space is a favorite of mine. I would suspect that you might actually enjoy its take on "horrors" of working as part of the corporate machine in the same way that I do. If I want something that is really pretty and makes me feel good without a bunch of lame "sappieness" The Fall from 2006 (there are other films with the same title) is a not well known but excellent film. There are others but those are the first few to came to mind.

I super love Office Space haha and all the sarcasm in that film. There are philosophical films that I like like"Waking Life". I will check out that "The Fall".

I like the "Waking Life" too but I haven't seen it is forever.

You should watch fight club too, great movie!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love Fight Club!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99