Make Me Happy

in #life5 years ago (edited)

ignorance-is-bliss.jpg

This whole "happiness comes from within" quote has become cliché nowadays. It feels like the person responding with this quote is a super spiritual being who has already reached Nirvana and is now qualified to throw the quote at random people. I don't mean to sound cynical but I roll my eyes whenever I get this. As if loneliness is such a bad thing. As if you are a happier person in your own superior way. Since when did this quote become an auto-response to those expressing their thoughts? Since when did we start demonizing feeling our true feelings?

Back in the day, focusing on the "Self" was still a sacred thing. But I realized that too much of forcing happiness out of yourself can be a bad thing. It's like waking up suddenly realizing that you are happier and more ignorant than ever. It's like making yourself feel happy and dismissing the rest. I mean there's nothing wrong with this whole meditation crusade. The thing is, the eastern philosophy has been completely bastardized turning it into propaganda. Just look at how many Self-Help books and fancy Yoga retreats out there now, all with a common goal - profit. They've even capitalized on our unhappiness. I think I've written about this topic many times in the past.

I call it the self-obsessed or narcissistic culture. People are isolated in their own self-improvement thing making others believe that they are really happy. People are so obsessed with their own happiness that every time someone else writes about his or her own unhappy thoughts, you get this whole "happiness comes from within". Why not just be brave enough to be true yourself?

In the past, I've been claiming that I'm happier without others. But after living alone for a long time, I realized that I'm just fooling myself. I learn to embrace and revel in my own loneliness. Simply because I like it. And maybe I am also happy in this state. But then, I keep giving humanity a chance. Because whether we like it or not, we are inherently social creatures. We can only flourish as a group. We all live 'at the whims of another' since the beginning of time. We always want to belong. We want to share. We want to be with other people to have good and bad moments with, whether friends or lovers - it doesn't matter. We are happier being with other people. If you feel alone, then just feel it. Are you happier being with other people? Then look for other people. Stop forcing yourself to be happy on your own all the time because it's exhausting.

Instead of rotting in your own self-improvement isolation, instead of telling others to"be happy", why not make others happy. No words, just action. Stop being part of this whole narcissistic culture. Go out and make someone's day. Help others. Cook for strangers. Hug someone. Find a lover, make friends or whatever. We all live together on the same planet. And the point is to share and feel HAPPIER with our fellow human beings.

image src

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49