Keep Looking Up Beach Bum!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

DJI_0039_2.jpg

I try to make it a point to write every day but there are some days that I just can't do anything. Just plain nada. Yesterday was just one of those days. To make it even worse, the internet was really slow. I figured that it was probably time to get off the screen and have that much-needed unplug time. I was really feeling meh about my venture and life in general that I needed to clear my thoughts and find another source of motivation.

I went to the beach and met a traveler who happened to know a lot about business. I learned that he's a consultant and a salesperson before. He was coaching me about everything that I need to know and correct. I found myself kind of venting out my frustration to someone that I've just met. I was just telling him that I'm feeling a bit discouraged as there are tons of things to do and how I'm obsessing over the unimportant details. He understood the difficulties that I'm facing at the moment. I was also ranting about the rejections from my recent sales effort. Unless I can afford to hire someone to do this for me, I just have to find good service providers on my own and be the one to do this job first. And of course, you all know how I find it hard to build human relationships as I dislike everyone. And for that reason, I'm not feeling confident enough to get this startup off the ground.

He was basically telling me to toughen up and get used to rejections. Fear is also holding me back. Fear of opening myself to the public. But in business, I just have to. These days, I'm overanalyzing and always on the lookout for major disappointments. It is just hard for me to trust new people. Deep down, I know I can put my charm to work and just go out there and start building a good network for my venture. But it is easier said than done. I know that once I'm able to find good contractors, I'm sure I'd be heading towards the right direction. My new friend was trying to make me aware of my early mistakes, which is putting everything on hold due to my obsession with the little details and other shit. I can be a perfectionist and it's hurting me now. Now that I'm aware, it's time to make the change. I figure that I can start getting clients now that will push me to finally take action and move forward.

I can't believe that I've learned so much just by going out. I rarely talk to some random person but it does not hurt to open myself up sometimes. If I went out to talk to some locals here, I know that I will mostly get negativity and doubt from them. Not from everyone of course, just most of them understandably think the same. Small-town minds. Everything here is about competition and pulling others down so someone can get ahead. It pays to listen to someone who has a different perspective. Someone who sees the potential in what you do.

I was about to go back to my place to work. I feel guilty whenever I miss a day of not writing for Steemit or not getting things done for my project. It is probably my strong commitment to my goal and routine or maybe just another one of my obsessions. Anyway, we decided to go to another beach as there was some party there. I'm not really such a party animal these days but it won't really hurt to miss one day of writing in exchange for that much-needed fun. He happened to have a drone in which I got try for the first time to take aerial shots of the beach. Stunning isn't it? I've realized that by just deciding to just open myself up a little bit and live a little, I get things I didn't ask for. Now I have drone shots of the beach and islands that I can add to my website. Sweet!

The best part of my day was that I met another good friend and fellow entrepreneur unexpectedly in the beach bar. I embraced him right there and then, the kind of embrace that feels like, fuck I'm not alone here anymore. It is nice to finally be with new friends here on the island who understand my frustration and sentiment. My friend is trying to buy a land to set up his cafe. I was actually happier to see him too because I don't feel alone anymore in my struggle to put up a business. You can know a lot of people and still feel a bit on your own, like an outsider. That's what I've been feeling lately. It makes me feel good knowing that there's at least one or two that you can like, friends who are not pretentious, full of shit and all that, I can know straight away when you are not. You build that kind of good judgment as you get more bad experiences in life, as you get older.

Then I also met a friend of his friend, investor, traveler and surfer, everything you probably like in a person. Then he drove all of us, my business coach / new friend, me and my good friend to his nice place close the beach where we cooked some tuna pasta, the only food available in his house. We felt lucky as we were quite hungry. We drank some Rhum without rocks and argued if there is a God and all the existential shit. What are the odds that I'd be in that moment? A lot happened in just one day, just by deciding to bravely be out there.

I went home feeling motivated. I have high hopes that I can achieve my life goals and make everything happen. I just need to keep looking up. Better days ahead.

Sort:  

That could be a beach bum looking up, or a GIGANTIC JELLYFISH ABOUT TO ATTACK THE BEACH!!

I wish it's a gigantic jellyfish about to attack people on the beach lol.

The article really featured a very beautiful story well done
The sea is that broad horizon that takes you to another world where you find your beautiful memories, which give you the psychological comfort and happiness with its charming waves

I went home feeling motivated. I have high hopes that I can achieve my life goals and make everything happen.

This should be the aim of life. Stay positive and have self belief. Nothing is impossible. God help those who help them self.

"I feel guilty whenever I miss a day of not writing for Steemit"

I get like that too. I have been kind of slow lately and it is driving me crazy lol. It is good to take a day off though and it sounds like yours was petty productive.

Yeah I didn't regret it. I think it's nice to take some days off just so we don't get burned out.

I guess you were lucky to have slow internet. Lucky to have an off-day. Lucky to meet the people you happened to meet that day... The question is this: did that luck come to you, or did you make your own luck? If you decide you made your own luck, you'll also blame only yourself when you don't get that lucky. Then your "bad situation" is the consequence of you not making the right choices. This is what a lot of people believe, and they get depressed when things don't go their way; depression is at all time highs, same for suicides... I for one think it's best to not claim to be the arbiter of my own luck, so I don't have to feel guilty every time something doesn't go in my preferred direction, and be grateful for whatever luck and love does come my way :-)

I'm grateful to have met you here, @diabolika, and I'm sure you'll make something happen that makes you happy :-) Oh, and that drone-picture is beautiful! ;-) Thanks once more for in inspired post, it's great, even if a day late ;-)

and be grateful for whatever luck and love does come my way :-)

Awww the best thing I've read so far.

Thank you as always!

HI,
Very inspiring. Some days, one needs to just change the boring routine of the day.
I need to venture out more and talk to strangers.

I need to venture out more and talk to strangers.

Same for me.

I try to make it a point to write every day but there are some days that I just can't do anything

It happens to everyone, right now I have been feeling the same, but in my case the fact I am putting like 6 hours a day into watching the World Cup makes it all more difficult for me to find time and write good content.

But these phases are normal, they come and go.

It is so cool you had the luck of meeting those interesting people just by going to the beach.

But these phases are normal, they come and go.

I agree.

I know I feel lucky too. It's nice to open up ourselves a bit huh.

Keep believe in your self its really necessery for success.i wish yoy get your goals

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 101 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@diabolika You have received a 100% upvote from @spambuster because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79