Accepting What I Cannot Change

in #life5 years ago (edited)

dream.jpg

For the past few days, I was dwelling on the things that didn't turn out as expected, causing me debilitating anxiety. Situations in life that I cannot control. Clients that were supposed to book their tours with me, cycling to the beach peacefully and stress-free, essential things that I could have obtained, and so on. Accepting situations or people that I don't like is probably one of the difficult aspects of life. I'm all for taking action and changing whatever I can because this is what it means to live freely. If there's someone who can implement or prevent the things that I want or don't want, it means that person is my master. If I really want to be free, things should not be up to other people. However, inevitably, there will be things that I have no control over. People will change their minds, some things cannot be achieved, and there are those will try to bring out the worst in me. There are times when I feel like, the only thing I can change is Me, and that's how I can be really free.

Don't get me wrong, I am not talking about accepting things that badly need to be changed in this world, like rich countries exploiting poorer countries, political and racial domination, subliminal message about power domination on the mainstream media, silencing the majority, war for profit, massive corruption and poverty, and the destruction of the planet by unethical corporations we support. These problems exist and need our collective action, they cannot just be accepted and denied. Because most people have misinterpreted all these self-help and eastern spirituality books. Like, don't expect a child in Yemen dying of hunger to accept things as they are. There are circumstances in life that have been brought upon them by external factors and sadly, these things are what most people in modern society don't understand. It is not their fault and fault alone. And whether we like it or not, we've all contributed to this shit too.

As much as I feel like being realistic is the way to make the change, there are just times that I feel like I need to be a little more positive in order to move forward. There are things that I need to let go and ignore in my own personal life. I feel like I am trapped in worrying about things that I have no control over. I can only do so much.

I think acceptance is not the same as passivity or resignation. I can continue to push forward despite accepting that there are things beyond my control. I have to make a choice otherwise I will just die inside that easy. Sure, I want people to change, I want this world to change. And sometimes, the crisis seems to be the only way to wake people up, that much-needed jolt or electric shock to the bone to make them realize the reality. We are not just automatons that can continue living in blissful ignorance.

Should I really just cultivate my own garden? If I really want to live my life on my own terms, I should learn how to cope. There will be things, events, and people that will try to control me. And I will try to control them back. It's a vicious cycle. Sometimes, the only way to live is to accept and let go. If I cannot change a situation anymore, I am forced to change myself.

We are told to expect less to avoid disappointment. But I think disappointments are part of life and we should not avoid it. We should not fortify our walls or overprotect ourselves, otherwise, we will miss out on great things in life. Pain brings us into the reality and present moment. What we can do is to accept, create, and replace. Creating is motivating, and expecting is demanding.

There might be some things that I cannot change and control, and it doesn't mean I can't move on and live a meaningful life. As always, I can adapt and adjust to circumstances. I'll just focus on what I can do, and if it doesn't turn out as expected, I can move on to the next. One way or another, I'll live.

img src

Sort:  

In fact, yes... You truly should just cultivate your own garden. It was a terrible day when I realized that despite my dogged insistence on trying to embody the Beatitudes, you just can't save them all. Worse yet, not only do some of them not -want- to be saved.. but some of them don't -deserve- to be saved. It's not my job, nor my place, to go around saving people... or the world, for that matter.

And that is a tremendously liberating knowledge. My job, and my -only- job, is to cultivate my own garden. Period. Such is the Golden Road... but here's the trick, the thing I was speaking of the other day. You will eventually start to see others that have this understanding.. others who cultivate their own garden. And they fucking rock!

I used to be a part of a (very loosely defined) coven... you know the sort.. lots of needy people who 'help each other' maintain their neediness. They not only refuse to grow, they sabotage each other's growth. This sort of herd thinking pervades the human species, unfortunately... It is the lack of want that causes this. In a world where people are so used to slapping down a few $$$ and getting their desires met instantly... They have forgotten their place. They blame others (those victims who you spake of) for their victimhood.. distracting themselves with the Law of Attraction or some other such nonsense... and it's all bullshit, and a lie, and they know it.. but it's just so much easier to go along with the Lie, rather than face the ugly truth that they have been a part of that deception... So yes.. a "love and light" fluffy-bunny coven of fools...

Now I am part of a Cabal.. an association of fully independent (and pretty goddamn thorny) witches who gather for the purpose of celebrating their independence. We do, on occasion, support each other.. but for the most part, "if you can't take the heat, stay out of the goddamned kitchen!" We have cajones, we have attitude, and we ain't afraid to take our lumps... which is as it should be.

Humans were not meant to be herd animals... Those who choose to be... well, whatever. Good for them.

Freedom and Safety do not mix... like oil and water in a salad dressing... It's good to have a bunch of both, but ultimately, your path to Glory is going to mean refusing to MAKE excuses for yourself.. or for others. That's why so many people fear those who take the devil's hand and Walk with Her... Cause they don't accept bullshit, do not suffer fools, and generally carry out lives of quiet, humble Domination. We -own- our gardens, and we tend them... and we are not alone.

It's very hard to let go of hope for others... and accept your own Glory. But as you already know... it is SO WORTH IT.

Have a good evening, honey. You're doing fine. ]=)

lots of needy people who 'help each other' maintain their neediness. They not only refuse to grow, they sabotage each other's growth. This sort of herd thinking pervades the human species

Really sounds familiar to me. I'm away from this type of people and I've never been happier.

lol LOA is such a gimmick, another one of those big profit businesses.

Freedom and Safety do not mix

So true. I hope to find those free humans too.

Thank you for the kind words. Stay free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57