A Hodge Podge of Things and Stuff ☺️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Where to Start?

First off, I haven’t posted in DAYS.
Life. ☺️

We are in the midst of the three day Memorial Day weekend here in the USA. 🇺🇸 Like Rembrance Day, Memorial Day is a day to honor fallen soldiers and those serving or who have served in the military. Additionally, the weekend is considered the unofficial start of summer. People often spend the three days camping, hosting barbecues or watching newly released summer movies.


So what’s been happening here?

We saw HAN SOLO! 😃

15534ECB-60FC-42D0-B64B-60EB86970361.jpeg
source

I am a child of the 70’s, so the original Star Wars was the first movie I saw in the theater. As a little girl I was obsessed with the franchise. I had books, soundtrack albums, action figures, Barbie style dolls, posters, board games and I dressed as Princess Leia for Halloween in kindergarten. From my twenties until now, I have seen all the new Star Wars movies (even the crappy prequels) on opening night.

I loved this new film.

No spoilers, but I really enjoyed the new Han Solo movie. There was so much doom and gloom surrounding the film’s production that it seemed like a guaranteed flop. But it is good! REALLY good! It took me a scene or two to accept this new actor as Solo, but Alden Ehrenreich totally pulls it off. There are a couple of fun cameos in the movie and an unexpected character returns. (Really you need to see this movie before the internet spoils the whole thing). Plus, Donald Glover kills it as Landon Calrissian. 8/10 on the @dfinney movie scale. 👍🏻👍🏻😊


Mini Family Reunion

BCEA0B9C-E9AC-4D5F-99F7-270B2EBCD832.jpeg
I (half head at front) am the youngest person in this picture by 10 to 37 years. ☺️

My dad’s father (my grandpa) was one of five children. He and his siblings each had many of their own kids. Before the older generation started to pass away, we had quite the clan spread from coast to coast of the USA. This week my father’s eldest cousin, her sister, daughter and son-in-law came to town. They were here to celebrate the cousin’s 80th birthday and to embark on a cruise to Alaska.

We had a family dinner (parents, aunt, uncle, cousins, second cousins, second cousins-in-law) at a Doubletree Hotel by the airport. Apparently willingly eating hotel restaurant food is a thing you do in your 70’s/80’s.... 😄😂 I hadn’t seen one of the relatives since 1990 or 1991, so it was a fun night. It always feels good to spend time sharing stories with family.


Farmer’s Market

86B00423-8D2D-4065-989D-C6AF12B5D533.jpeg
Gorgeous Peonies

Every weekend from the Spring through Autumn our little town north of Seattle has a farmer’s market. Fresh pastas, cheeses, pies, vegetables, fish, meats and prepared foods are on sale. The market also features made to order meals as well as a variety of hand crafted wares.

However, my favorite part of the market... the flowers.
AF951700-EA56-4CB2-BBAA-5BDC94E350A6.jpeg

While no bouquets were purchased today, we strolled through the market and enjoyed alfresco lunch at a local restaurant.


Walk with Me

Though today was overcast, temperatures were still pleasant. In the late afternoon we took our pooches for a walk near a spot called Lake Ballinger.

Lake Ballinger is a 100 acre lake located within the cities of Mountlake Terrace and Edmonds. The lake has a maximum depth of 35 feet and an average depth of 15 feet. The lake's watershed is approximately 3250 acres. Source

5A3C0045-2F95-4718-9E46-ADDDA1B27CD3.jpeg
Views over the lilypads towards the lake.

44A387E4-F1D6-440D-9803-BB905672E667.jpeg
The little fellows loved running through the grass.

7E14FAFB-A808-408B-B5E2-F3E77CB2DB8B.jpeg
Meandering deeper into the park

50B3D1E7-52FF-4558-A77E-02446650702C.jpeg
A small pond to the side of the larger lake.

82C3C6FC-318C-4A35-82F0-FAAAB6A5B0F2.jpeg
Peeking out from under the trees.

78183090-6C95-4F56-827C-CB367E07956B.jpeg
My Boys


Baking

After a big walk it seemed like a good idea to bake cupcakes!

5256BB4D-924D-464E-8B38-B42C040B2D68.jpeg

Though the cupcakes look the same, we have three different varieties. One half are your basic chocolate cupcakes with rich chocolate frosting. The other half (on the tower) holds some surprises. I used a corer to hollow out each cake. Half are filled with strawberry jam, the other half with a coconut pecan mix (basically mini German chocolate cakes). Mmmmm delicious stuff.


Some Silver Business

One of the members of Steemit’s SteemSilverGold community,
@buggedout, has suggested the idea of a community mega raffle. The proceeds of the raffle will be used to fund SP leases for the community’s voter account.

The original post can be seen here.

My contribution to this raffle is a Perth Mint 2017 Silver Kookaburra Coin.
39EA96EA-BBD3-471E-8477-D50E8161F140.jpeg
Love the mama plus baby

More details on how #ssg members can win this coin (and many others) will be available the first of June.


And the weekend is not even half over! 😄

Hope my American friends are keeping busy and having fun this three day weekend.

CHEERS!!! 🍻

🇺🇸 ❤️ 🇺🇸 💙 🇺🇸 ❤️ 🇺🇸


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa and steemsilvergold
8F20F546-CD35-4690-9CF6-CB7FBC74592F.jpeg
12DD5B33-376A-452F-8530-4FF1E1891F5D.jpeg
872F11D9-8079-469E-831D-EF5FEA0D9D13.png
D2407D0D-FBF1-46B2-A45B-64A52AD7C8A6.png

Sort:  

Huge post. So much stuff in there. I'm pretty keen to check out the Han Solo movie, thanks for the encouraging review.

Thanks again for putting up a prize. I'm into Kooks myself so that's a nice choice.

😂 It’s like 5 posts in one. I am always struggling to find things to share on steemit. I should have stretched it out a bit! 😄🤣

Definitely see Solo. I think too many fanboys really want the new movies to recreate the magic of the originals. The thing is they never will. Star Wars came along at a very specific time when it came to film making and in a lot of folk’s lives. I kind of go into them now just asking hey is this a good movie? Verses does this capture the groundbreaking leaps forward in special effects and story telling that I was enthralled by a kid.

I am excited to see what else shows up in the raffle. It’s a fun idea. Good job! 👍🏻

Yes, I have low expectations when it comes to the new star wars stuff but that had allowed me to enjoy the new movies.

The raffle is getting very exciting. It will end up being quite the showcase and I love that a lot people are putting silver up from from their home countries or has some personal touch. Thanks again for taking part! :)

So many interesting things on this post...Solo, flowers, lake, family, cupcakes and more. Loved it!

Aw, thanks @ronaldoavelino! I know you love to post about silver, but when do I get to see a post about Brazil from you? ☺️

Enjoy the Holiday Weekend @dfinney and I must say this was an excellent posting and those German Chocolate Cup Cakes would be my Favorite for sure..................

You have a good one too @stokjockey! Up to anything fun?

I would have gone full German Chocolate cake on all of the cupcakes but my husband doesn’t like coconut..... 🤷🏻‍♀️

Thanks for sharing sooo much! Steem on! Glad you enjoyed the movie too...now I won't automatically rule it out and give it a watch soon!

All the best!

This was me writing that post...
“blah, blah, blah, blah , blah...” 😄 Thanks for reading. ☺️

As I said in my reply above to @buggedout definitely see Solo. Just go into it with an open heart to see an entertaining movie vs. trying to be back in 1977. ☺️

Hope you are enjoying the long weekend!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations @dfinney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm not a big star wars fan but I'm glad you enjoyed your movie!! sounds like you had a fun filled weekend with your relatives. Such a beautiful lake you visited 😍 I can almost taste the german chocolate cupcakes! That's what I got @silvergingerman to make me for my b-day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70