On "Being Boring," Group Think and Other Life Experiences

in #life7 years ago

I don't exactly remember the first time someone called me "boring."

LavenderBee
A bee enjoys nectar from our lavender

However, I am pretty sure it involved some situation where one of my childhood friends wanted to undertake a harebrained adventure doomed to failure, or a painful ending, or parental punishment... or all of the above. I'm pretty sure I was about seven or eight, at the time.

As a teenager, I was "boring" because I thought the idea of skipping school and ending up in detention was stupid, and I thought cigarettes-- and going off to smoke them under the bleachers-- were stupid.

In college, I was thoroughly boring because I wanted to do other things with my weekends than drinking myself senseless and waking up next to "some girl" whose name I didn't feel entirely certain about. Some thought I was thoroughly boring because I had no interest in getting stoned or using large volumes of nose candy to "alter" my state of being.

Our Strangely Dichotomous Values

As I reflect on my life-- from age almost-57-- I recognize that the typical reason I would get labeled as "boring" was pretty directly tied to the fact that I seemed able to recognize "stupid acts" as stupid, before engaging in them... and then choosing not to do them.

PurpleFlower
Some type of purple blooming shrub

I have almost always been able to evaluate the consequences of actions with rather alarming accuracy, before getting involved in things. And frankly? The cost-benefit ratio seldom looks pretty, from where I am sitting. 

What got me to reflecting on "being boring" (which I am actually quite content being...) was the realization of just how contradictory our value systems tend to be. 

Think about it: We place a very high value on "the individual," and on "independent thinking," and on "creating your own reality." We tend to admire those who march to the beat of their own drummer. 

And yet, we also tend to negatively label those who tend to not follow the "group think" paradigm; those who don't succumb to peer pressure... for example, we call them "boring," or "weird." 

These dualities seem to be present in so much of the human experience... we almost idolize things we also loathe and despise.

We're a weird and baffling species, sometimes.

Meanwhile, it appears I have inadvertently created a "purple post" without even realizing it... technically speaking, your could be part of the #sundaypurple photography challenge, which is part of #colorchallenge. But that's just a complete side thought. Funny, how life manifests, sometimes!

How about YOU? Did you ever find yourself being characterized as "boring" or some other mildly derogatory term-- not just as a momentary slight, but as something that followed you through a large part of your life? Do you recognize odd paradoxes or dualities, in parts of your own life, in terms of how people respond yo you? Where were these dualities? Are they still there? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- start the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Posted 20170624 23:11 PDT

Sort:  

I guess being "boring" is the way to be successful in life. Thanks for sharing your story mate :)

Beats me... there were just certain types of "excitement" that really didn't appeal to me. Besides, someone has to be the one to bail drunken friends who got in a fight out of jail...

Thank you. This is so true. In my small home town, everyone who was different were called freaks, no weirdos. There was something in the water there for sure. And unfortunately, the weirdos almost always leave, leaving the narrow minded to breed and make more idiots. Ah, life.

I know what you mean... I lived some years in a smaller town in Texas; anyone with brains couldn't wait to get our of there... and you know what that leaves behind, right?

life is a sink or swim situation sometimes. if you go with the flow, then your in.if you go against it, then your an outcast. that is always the case with the society we live in.

Yes, sometimes we're just damned if we DO and damned if we DON'T.

Never been called boring, though I also have successfully avoided the things you did. Sometimes prudish, but by virtue of being an outlandish theatre kid, I never attracted the label of boring. Also, a different era, perhaps.

Interesting... I guess I avoided "being boring" *all" the time by quite often ending up as the class/group clown...

Hooray for goofiness! Do you still clown around?

Life is boring......

Wow!!!! Beautiful...

I happily admit I am boring and also a chicken. However, that has kept me from various medical maladies, serious legal problems and broken bones. I am happy with the deal.

I feel myself gulty for posting under tag #colorchallenge. I know it's stupid.

I just would like to get some attention to my watercolors, what is why I post them according to a colorchallenge daily tasks.

PS: no one never considered me as a boring person, inspite of my resisting to do stupid things

I sort of understand where you're coming from... I have mostly avoided challenges and contests because it just doesn't feel like "original content" to me. Although I suppose it is.

I asked myself few times Why am I doing this? picture-by-picture: it doesn't have any sense...
it's all the same as everyday posts with a morning cup of coffee (cups maybe different, but it doesn't have any sense or value). It doesn't improve somethinf or develop any skills.

I'm sorry - I'm tired now. Maybe tomorrow morning I will feel and think opposite ;)

Have a great time!

In the end, I end up concluding that life perhaps doesn't always "make sense."

I can guess it depends from a task to a current life.
Say, if a previous life was really full with tasks and events, the next one might be calm, relaxing, and with great potential for enjoying

but we are humans and could always find/give/create sense for everything

really beautiful:-)

hope you upvote my comment. I feel good with that!

I beautiful flower with an interesting personality. I like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22