Mindful Living: Paying Attention and Reading the Signs

in #life7 years ago

With every passing day, I increasingly come to the conclusion that the vast majority of people in the world walk around in a "trance" or daze, utterly unaware of what is going on around them-- or even right in front of their faces.

Maybe I'm a little strange, but whenever I walk into a house, or room, or shop, or restaurant I scan my surroundings and take a quick "inventory" of what's around me.

Evidently, that's not common behavior.

0100-Coast.jpg

The Fine Art of Not Paying Attention

I have occasionally mentioned that my wife and I have a small art gallery/gift store, here in our town. It never ceases to amaze me how many people will stand at the desk where we make sales, with their face three feet from a large clear sign that reads "We Ship Nationwide!" and ask "Do you do ship?" Not to mention that we have "we ship" signs posted several places around the shop.

Sometimes people will pick up an item sitting right next to a sign with a description and a price and ask "how much is this?"

Now I can totally understand someone not paying attention when they are deep in thought or contemplation-- that's only natural. Happens to the best of us. However, if you are actively in the middle of doing a task... and you don't notice something very obvious that's directly related to the task? What's going on, then?

0100-RedRhody.jpg

Many people "sleepwalk" through life...

My experiences at the gallery has made me more aware of just how many people truly do not bother to observe anything around them. Sometimes it almost sounds like they expect to have the simplest of things "spoon fed" to them, all the time.

Maybe that sounds a bit arrogant, but I struggle to find any explanation that makes more sense.

I deal with a whole different set of questions, as a seller on eBay.

There are certain things I ALWAYS make sure I include in my listings: The size of the item, the condition of the item and how much it will cost to ship. These are things I put in large text, front and center, for everyone to see. As a potential buyer, these are things I'd want easy answers to.

And yet, I still get a steady stream of emails, asking me things like "How big is it?" or "What will that cost to ship?"

Inevitably, the answers to 80% of the questions I get are right there, already.

0100-CoastDawn.jpg

Spiritual Laziness?

Sometimes I wonder if part of the issue is a sort of intellectual or spiritual "laziness," which seems rather pervasive in our modern world. Maybe you've encountered it, too. The moment a person has to "figure something out," they just ask a question that's already answered right in front of them, essentially having someone else "do the thinking FOR them," rather than take a moment to put two and two together, on their own.

Have we really grown that lazy? Or have we forgotten how to think and figure things out? Or is this part of a different "New World Order" in which everyone feels "entitled" to a life that lives itself and comes with an Easy Button?

I am really not trying to be judgmental here. This is more a case of pure curiosity... what's going on, inside people's heads? Why this lack of paying attention to the obvious? Why do people not read signs? Why do people not try to figure simple things out on their own?

What do YOU think? Leave a comment about your own experiences and start the conversation!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit.)

WooHoo! This is my 100th blog post on Steemit!

Sort:  

Congratulations for your 100th blog post. In Buddhist, it is call Vippasana meditiation.... paying attention and aware what you do. When you walked, just realise to your step. In simple meaning is Life at the present. Simple Present Tense ----> That is why called that, because life at the present is a give, and thanksfull for that :)

So much said here!

Thank you! Being fully Present in the moment is more of a practice than most people realize... it's a very "active" thing, not passive.

Many people "sleepwalk" through life...

Hahaha very true!! and yet, we are here expecting someone actually Read Our Posts. LoL

We, perfectionist maniacs, will have to deal with this for the rest of our life.
Great post mate!! I enjoyed it so much. I just earned an easy laugh tonite. :)
Upvoted & Resteemed!!

Thanks for the supportive words!

I guess you're right-- there are elements of "perfectionism expectations" involved here. Maybe I'm overly idealistic, but to build a better world, we have to to "better," rather than just "good enough." And to do better, we have to be present and engaged in our surroundings...

Thanks for the comment!

Do you notice it more in certain age groups? Is it a sign of intellectual laziness, of people wanting the answers spoon fed to them?

Do you ever give a sarcastic or annoyed answer when the ask if you ship? It must drive you crazy after a while.

This short video especially at the 2:40 mark is good.

Great video clip-- thanks! My wife (who can be somewhat irreverent at times) is fond of saying things like "Funny... I was just AT the center of the Universe, but I didn't see YOU there!"

I have learned to expect pretty much zero from people, and to be incredibly patient with all levels of stupidity and lack of attention. I don't know that there's a particular age group most often "guilty" although it might skew a bit younger (20's, 30's) and involves the same group who seems to get terribly uncomfortable because we have no cell service in the store (it's in a basement, below 3 feet of concrete)...

I feel the same
Most of the day, I feel I have to be 100% conscience of my surroundings
What I find interesting, where I live anyways.
That when someone does a nice deed or you are friendly to someone. The person is amazed of being treated with friendliness & kindness
At times I have helped people on the streets, & hear the comment "There are nice people out there"

Yes, it's interesting how often people are actually surprised to be treated with kindness... like kindness is an exception rather than the norm for behavior.

I agree. Most people don't think at all. They're on auto-pilot from the programming they received.

Yeah, "programming" is a good word for it. And I think we're taught by society, and by schools, to not think... just to follow the "standard" (whatever that may be) without question. Hence the term "sheeple."

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61