When You Live Far from "Home"

in #life7 years ago

20170607_132808-1.jpg

In the excitement of packing, traveling and moving to a new place, there are some things you just don't think about. For example, you probably aren't thinking about the birthdays you will not be around to celebrate in person. Life is fluid and full of adventure and change. The world moves. People move.

20170607_132544-1.jpg

Recently, I flew back "home" to visit my family and was touched by my Dad's thoughtfulness. Because it had been a year since we had all seen each other, he ordered a special whipped cream cake which said "All of Us" on top. We celebrated a year's worth of all of our birthdays together. It was a happy moment. With just a tinge of sad.
20170607_132659-1.jpg

I am happy to live where I do now, and my family is happy for me as well. But it doesn't mean that we didn't all feel the tug on our hearts as the candles got blown out. The price of the new experiences have cost us the familiarity and traditions of some of the old.

20170604_154922-1.jpg

And when a loved one ages into their 90's, there is the acute awareness of thoughts like, "These may be the last candles he blows out," or "this may be the last time I see him alive." And, "I love him so much."

Yet, family loves and trains us to grow up and explore the world, embrace opportunities. True, they miss us. And we miss them. But so long as we are living authentic lives, they are happy for us. And we are grateful and perhaps more appreciative than ever for the precious moments we can share in this precious life together.

Sort:  

Its so true. There is always a cost. Just seems life is full of good and bad...bittersweet really.

My sister lives overseas currently and so I can relate to this. Wonderful story about your family and situation, and nicely written. :)

Upvoted and resteeming this to 14,000+ followers.

Thank you so much @joanaltres! I truly appreciate it and know that your resteem allowed many more people to see the post. I have been very encouraged by peoples' response and seeing how so many of us feel the same things and can relate to one another. I hope you get a chance to connect with your sister soon. All the best to you! :)

That was such a sweet idea of your dad with the all of us cake :)

I can relate to what your saying i moved away from home at 18 and never lived near y family since them and for the last 30 years have lived around the world, missed so many family events over the years

Thank you @tattoodjay! I'm sure you have many wonderful experiences to tell, living around the world. But yes, our hearts can yearn for those moments we miss.

:) have a great day

Well said. "All of Us" is quite poetic.

Literally brought mo to tears. 😢
It's been two years since I have been home and hugged my parents. I really miss them and desperately need their hug. 😢😢

Thank you. It's helpful to know that others can relate and we are not alone in our experiences. I understand your feeling. I do hope you can find a way to see them. My heart goes out to you. All the best to you. 💙💜💚

Happy times with family and Whipped cream cake!!!!

Yes, there's just nothing quite like a fresh whipped cream cake from the bakery down the street ;)

Loneliness can only be tackled through proper interactions and relationships

I love your dad's style ;) Having circled the globe for 6 years my wife and I have learned for each thing we give up freely, we receive something else easily. Our family has grown to accept, embrace and even celebrate our travels as they see our authentic urge to see the world, and to bring the world together thru our globe trotting. Love this post :)

Thank you @ryanbiddulph! Yes, my Dad is a man of style... Especially when it comes to good food! I love what you said, "for each thing we give up freely, we receive something else easily." So, so true! Bon Voyage to you and your family on all of your journeys :) I will follow to see more!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49