For Those in Snow, Here's a Little Sunshine!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

In speaking to a Chicago resident on the phone recently, she lamented, "There's no sun here and it's twenty degrees. I'm so sick of it." As a native Chicago resident myself, I completely understood her cry.

20180120_132043_HDR.jpg

By the end of January, the cold becomes quite wearisome to many. There are, of course, those rare individuals who love the cold and snow, day in and day out. However, for many, including myself, I found that snow was charming on Christmas, but by the end of January, I was tired of shoveling the stuff and driving in it.

20180116_113202_Burst01.jpg

It took several decades, but now I have found myself living in Southern California with 80 degrees and sunshine in January. The other day the song "California Dreamin" popped up in my play list and I took note of the lyrics for the first time:

20180116_114054.jpg

"California Dreamin" by The Mamas & the Papas

All the leaves are brown (all the leaves are brown)
And the sky is grey (and the sky is grey)
I've been for a walk (I've been for a walk)
On a winter's day (on a winter's day)
I'd be safe and warm (I'd be safe and warm)
If I was in L.A. (if I was in L.A.)

20180116_114607.jpg

I sang along and thought to myself, "Wow, I get it. I remember winter. I'm grateful to be here!"

20180116_114217.jpg

Now, California and the Los Angeles area are certainly not perfect. We have fires, mudslides, earthquake danger, a tsunami warning a few days ago...

20180120_103155.jpg

And I do love the Midwestern United States and my native Chicago. Sorry LA, but the Chicago skyline just can't be beat.

20180120_103801.jpg

But, my oh my, California sure does flaunt her beauty in January with her ample sunshine, ripe oranges hanging from the trees, and exquisite foliage in bloom! So for all my friends in the throes of dark snowy winters, I hope you enjoy this little bit of sunshine. And remember... Spring WILL come! And it WILL be beautiful!!

steemusafooter.png

Sort:  

If you are looking to enter into the statewars they are looking for everyone to be using the tag #statewars

Thanks @enjar! I actually hadnt heard about this yet, so thanks for the heads up! Edited accordingly 😉

I am like your friend done with Winter so I really enjoyed this postvwith beautiful light and warmth

Happy to bring some light @tattoodjay 🌞

👍😎👍

Chicago is cold, but Minneapolis/ St. Paul, the area close to where I live is about 10 to 15 degrees colder. But maybe the wind makes it feel colder! I remember when my wife and I were driving through California in '08 on a rural road, we hit a traffic jam, and all the cars hit a dead stop. I asked the guy in front of me what was going on, and he said, "oh, it's just a fire. It jumps from one side of the road to the next. Happens all the time."

We were stuck out there for maybe an hour or so.

Suddenly, snow doesn't seem so bad!

Yes, fire has been all around us this year. Locals get so used to it, they just say things like, "Oh, we'll have to cancel the Malibu plans this weekend cuz we're back on fire." I remember not long after moving here, the first time I was walking down the street, wearing a white dress, and I noticed all these little pieces of ash in my hair & on my dress. The Cali native I was with said, "Oh, it's just ash. Happens all the time." I was shocked.

My wife has done the opposite of you. She was from Southern California and now we are living 2 hours East of Chicago.

I'm from South East Texas, so not much different than Southern Californian and we both pretty much hate it this time of year. If it weren't for being so close to her family, we would have probably moved by now :(

Soak up some of that warm sun for us people braving the snow and the cold :P

Will do @gniksivart. My condolences on the cold. There are always trade offs. I have the 80 degree weather, but my extended family is no longer anywhere near me. Have to get on a plane to see everyone.

Yeah, since it's my in-laws I'd be ok with that :P, but in all seriousness it's nice having them around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46