You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

in #life6 years ago

Congratulations on taking this decision! Believe me, this is the best what you could do. You might not feel this way today but you eventually will. Stress is our killer and we should take conscious decisions to avoid it as much as we can.

What an epic trip you have ahead of you! I'm so excited for you! I'm sure you will get your lost energy back!

AND there is another tag that you can use for your travel posts. It's called #travelfeed. Travelfeed is a community gathering travelers and nomads and curating high quality travel articles. I'm sure your posts will fit perfectly in the group. You can also join us on discord http://bit.ly/2Gtm5kn

We will be happy to welcome you on board :)

Sort:  

So very nice to “see” you again @delishtreats and …

Believe me, this is the best what you could do. You might not feel this way today but you eventually will. Stress is our killer and we should take conscious decisions to avoid it as much as we can.”

… I do believe you! As a younger man, I would say I never had any stress, but I am long past that foolishness. The challenge at this stage of my life is my experience base, with success in five industries, is beyond that of most. I don’t say that boastfully, but just that I know better, when “the company line” is something I know to be nonsense … In addition, I can “see through” a lot of people and the façade that is put up and the “games” that are played …

Anyway, just a few more weeks and I will be out on the trip outlined here, closing the pages on this last chapter of my life, and reflecting on what the next chapter might be …

Thank you for the Discord invite. I will follow up on that as soon as I click “Reply!” 👍


P.S. HF20 really broke up our dialog, when I “went dark” for five or six days while that mess got sorted out. So nice to see, since then, that you have become a dolphin! Very happy for you @delishtreats!! 😊 Seems a good place to reach in creating a bit of a “middle class,” as some refer to it here on our Steem blockchain. Hope to join you at that level someday.

6 days after and here I am.. I have done a post about a donation and it took a lot of my time so commenting on anything else was put aside for a few days..

I was working in a corporate office for 9 years and witnessed things that made me sick. It's such a bad environment and it causes so much stress. I'm not that old but I realize already that there are more important things in life than money and as long as I have a place to sleep, food, clothes and of course my husband I'm fine. I don't need much more and so I'm never going to get back to such job even though it was very well paid..

Thank you for joining the discord channel. I didn't have access to answer you in the welcome channel so I'm sorry that I didn't respond to your mention. Now it's fix and I can send messages there as well..

YES! I'm a happy swimming mammal now :) I would love to see you powering up to a dolphin level ;)

Not a problem @delishtreats

”6 days after and here I am..”

… for me, as I completely understand. I am doing the best I can with the time I have available, so assume others are doing likewise.

”I'm not that old but I realize already that there are more important things in life than money and as long as I have a place to sleep, food, clothes and of course my husband I'm fine. I don't need much more and so I'm never going to get back to such job even though it was very well paid..”

Very good. I think a key, at least for me, is getting clearer in time with what I need vs. what I may want. Of course, they are not the same thing. As a younger man, perhaps I did not see that as clearly as I do now.

What lingers, though (maybe more a “guy thing,” but couldn’t say for sure …), is how much of my sense of self-worth is tied up in my work. The level of responsibility and compensation are all part of it. BUT … I have taken this as a challenge of a different sort. To get over. As quickly as possible …

”I didn't have access to answer you in the welcome channel so I'm sorry that I didn't respond to your mention.”

Not a problem either. I assume you are busy and we’ll “meet” again, as time and opportunity permit. Hope to perhaps join you as a *”happy swimming mammal” sometime in the future! 😉

Thanks for stopping by!

I feel sorry for people climbing that corporate ladder and forgetting about their families and private life.. one day we all end up the same :) The most important is to be happy.. Not saying that the career doesn't make people happy but there are other important things in life that you can't buy with money. I can imagine that self-worth can be kind of calculated with how much you get at the end of each month and I don't think this is a guy thing though :) But I also think that we live luxurious lives while there are people who don't even have clean water to drink.. and we do nothing about that..

It's always so pleasant to talk to you Rob (even though it's probably not your real name :))

Thank you so much for your generous donation!!

Wow, @delishtreats. From 6 days down to 6 minutes! On the "continuous improvement" scale, that's a very impressive enhancement!! Duly noted for your next performance appraisal … 😊

Just “playing” with you @delishtreats. Some “corporate mind games” … 😉

Okay, now back to being serious …

”… but there are other important things in life that you can't buy with money.”

… no question about that. I’d go farther perhaps and ask whether there is truly anything of eternal value that can be purchased. I personally don’t think so … BUT ... It is so easy (at least for me ...) to fall into that "hole" ...

Rob will work just fine. And more than happy to support your project. I need no recognition for it, so please feel free to do with it as seems best to you!

So, when you leave your job in January then you will be able to share your real name, right? ;)

I was always one of the top performers (young and stupid), lol and I truly hated the performance appraisals as the system just didn't work in that company. It was done only for sake of having it done but there was no follow up further..

I'm sure we're both better off such environment ;)

When we already talk about charity.. one way how you can support good causes is through money and this way you can 'buy' a good feeling that you've helped someone :) And this feeling can be eternal if you continue the support :)

Thank you! I have a few of my favorites and I'm sure that you will be happy with my choice ;) But if you don't mind I will mention you in my post on Sunday (transparency reasons).

So glad that we're both online at the same time!

Back “in here” briefly this morning and ohhh, @delishtreats ...

"... I truly hated the performance appraisals …"

... sorry to have raised a bad memory. Just my attempt at a little humor, so hopefully you’ll forgive me.

"... So glad that we're both online at the same time! …"

Yes, well, for at least a few minutes we were! 😊

Okay, I understand the need for transparency, for your sake, so no problem. I appreciate your integrity very much @delishtreats.

Have a great day / evening “over there!” 👍

Have a great weekend over there! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55