365 days of life! What to do.

in #life4 years ago (edited)

This is a response post to the prompt by @anomadsoul with the question, what would I do if the doctor said I had only one year to live.

otmumr.jpg
SOURCE

Original post of prompt here: Post from @anomadsoul

It seems easier to write a post for a long answer. This is a tough question. I spent a some time thinking about it as I was immobilized on the dentist's chair for an hour. It served as a welcome distraction from her instruments of torture.

The first thing I would do if I got a terrible prognosis of one year to live is: get a second opinion from a new doctor. I do not trust doctors many ways. Although they claim to protect life, mostly what they study is disease. So, I would look for the opinion of a physician that is more acquainted with natural plant remedies to confirm the diagnosis and search for a cure.

What I would change time priorities. I would be less time at work and more time with family and friends. I do have a family and I think it would be very important for me to share whatever time I have left with them. Maybe travel for 2 of those months around a geographic region. Like Europe or North America (Various cultures scattered around a sizable area). I think mostly it would be to share wonderful memories with my one son and wife. Also, I think this would help me come to terms with what their future would be like.

What I would not change? I would continue to write up to point of publishing my thesis. With that, I mean, I would continue working of some of the things I consider are part of my life purposes. I would publish whatever I had in process. Also, I think I would continue to read the way I usually do. I would continue to read and learn up to the very last breath.

Something I would also not change are my values and principles. I have found much peace in letting my life be guided by the things I value and striving for them. To exemplify: I strive to live a simple and pure life. With a fatal prognosis, I highly doubt that I would suddenly start spending on luxuries.

So, to summarize, the things in my heart would remain similar. The things I would change is giving more time to my family and maybe some travel. Also for family memories.

Writing through this post does seem to lay some things in perspective and the question of course is. Why not today? Why not live today as it was my last year on Earth? In the this paradigm, I would certainly be living more aligned to my true desires.


ORIGINALLY POSTED BY @DEEPWATERS ON THE STEEM NETWORK.

WOULD YOU CONSIDER UPVOTING AND RESTEEMING THIS POST?

20% OF THE PROFITS OF THIS BLOG WILL DONATED TO TURTLES AND OCEAN PROTECTION PROGRAMS IN THE PARADISE ISLAND OF ROATAN, HONDURAS. FOLLOW US FOR MORE STEEM EXCLUSIVE CONTENT.



Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @deepwaters! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Howdy sir deepwaters! A sobering question for sure. I bet 95% of the people answering that question would say the same answer as yours. I mean a few would probably say they want to party every night. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98