Lifelong Learning is SO Important!!

in #life6 years ago

reading-1246520_960_720.jpg

Source
You are Never Too Old to Learn

supportboard.png

Hi Everyone! I'm here again talking about another of my hobby horses. This time it's 'Lifelong Learning'.

I left school at 18 because my parents couldn't afford to put me through further education, although I did go to uni as a mature student a few years later. I may have left school at 18 but I never stopped learning.

library-849797_960_720.jpg

Source
A Well-Resourced Multi-Media Room

I was working two jobs to save the money for uni fees but I had a couple of evenings a week free time so my first stop to continue with learning was evening classes.

I enrolled to retake two exams that I had bad grades at school... English Lit and Biology. I also enrolled for judo and cookery. I joined the 'Hampton School of Needlework' too.

I still peruse the evening class brochures every year, although I don't have much time for those anymore.

mind-544404_960_720.jpg

Source
The Many Facets of a Healthy Brain

So you might wonder why lifelong learning is important. See how old the guy at the top of this post looks? Wouldn't he be better off being a couch-potato?

NO, HE WOULD NOT!!

It's all about the brain, you see. If you learn new things continually throughout your whole life, you won't stop stimulating your brain power. Your memory will benefit and your brain cells will grow in strength.

Studying a new language, playing a musical instrument or starting a new hobby are all great ways to continue learning.

Helen's storm cloud 10.11.16.jpg

Source: My Own Photography
A Storm Approaching

It doesn't have to cost a lot either. One of my most successful hobbies is photographing clouds.

Stimulating your brain with learning new things isn't the whole story. You also need exercise and the best diet you can afford. Let's hope the researchers are right when they say that these things will help us avoid the dreaded Alzheimer's disease.

Don't forget stress too! Try to relax as often as you can. I find learning something new is very relaxing. Sometimes stress can be a good thing when it helps you solve a problem.

Finally, laugh whenever you get the chance. Your brain loves it when you laugh!

laughter-995213_960_720.jpg
Source

Laughter Sculpture Statue Rien

Other Posts That Might be of Interest.jpg

Would you like to enter the Artstorm Contest? Here is the link to today's contest in case you would like to enter:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/artstorm-contest-44-day-3-theme-today-the-supermarket

Would you like to enter The Butterfly Colouring Contest #9? Follow this link for the details:

https://steemit.com/butterflycolouring/@deemarshall/the-butterfly-colouring-contest-9

The Colourstorm Game #62 is live. Here is the link in case you would like to enter:

https://steemit.com/art/@deemarshall/the-colourstorm-game-day-62

If you'd like to enter the Naturestorm Contest please follow this link:

https://steemit.com/naturestorm/@deemarshall/the-naturestorm-game-day-29

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for commenting and upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37