Armistice Day, Remembrance Day, Poppy Day, Whatever You Call It, What Does It Really Mean To You?

in #life7 years ago

Royal_British_Legion's_Paper_Poppy_-_white_background.jpg
Wikipedia

Yes, I know I am a day early! I have some poppy day artwork to share tomorrow :)

Many people know the quote:

"On this day, at the 11th hour on the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, the Great War ends."
ref

Nobody is still alive who was in WW1 and there aren't so many people left who were actually in WW2. So it's hard to share real memories nowadays, but the message of 'LEST WE FORGET' lives on every year.

As it should!!

We-Will-Remember-Them-On-Remembrance-Day.jpg
Askideas.com

But now, we have other wars like The Troubles in Northern Ireland, The Falklands and, more recently, Terrorism, to name a few. So maybe we have forgotten a bit?

They say everyone in the UK lost at least one family member in these wars. My family didn't lose anyone in WW2 as most were the wrong age for military service or they were coal miners. Coal mining was a reserved occupation in wartime.

I had to go back to WW1 to find out who I lost. A guy named Thomas, the only boy in a brood of nine kids, was killed in 1916. His grave is in France. He'd be my great great uncle. Imagine the tragedy for his sisters when the treasured boy was killed.

e18b195e-091f-4c98-8557-bd58b4bbd34d.jpg
Playbuzz

He wasn't a fighter. He didn't agree with combat. He did support the war and joined the Army Veterinary Corps. He looked after the war horses that they used in WW1. Yeah, they really did use horses!

So, if I cry for anyone in my family, it has to be Thomas.

Passing on the message of 'LEST WE FORGET' is very hard. I remember being made to march down the local high street as a Brownie on Remembrance Sunday. All I thought about was how cold and miserable I was. I just longed for those refreshments when the march was over. It really didn't teach me anything.

As I got older I began to understand more about the message.

Now I think about it whenever there's a new war story about conflicts.

Tomorrow and Sunday I'll do the minute's silence.

These rituals do help to keep the message alive.

What does it all mean to you?

Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

Great Post, thank you for sharing! greetings from italy!

Excellent post, and a good reminder to NEVER FORGET! I have some fascinating stories passed down from my Dad who is 95. I am in the process of writing something about one particular event from WWII that Dad was involved with. If I have it ready by tomorrow, it would be a good day to post it!

Ooo, excellent idea! I'll look out for it. I hope it's ready for Armistice Day, otherwise, it will be an interesting read at any time. After all, we need to remember what did and can happen all the time not just on Poppy Day.

Thank you so much for reading my post, the vote and the resteem.

You are welcome! I am so interested in everything to do with WWI and especially WWII. What these dealt with and buried in their minds for decades is just awful - and all so that we could be free. I wish that what they sacrificed was appreciated more!

I wrote my Dad's story and have posted it now. I hope you will enjoy reading it.

I agree. I read your post just now. Very interesting. Thank you for posting it.

You are welcome. The rest of the story is incredible. I have to write about that too now.

#life
TB Joshua : If you are in a hurry to get money, you will be in a hurry to spend it. Anything that starts dubiously will surely end dubiously.

I think you posted on the wrong thread. Your reply has no relevance to my post. Anyway, thank you for the vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62