Sometimes, I Feel Like A Fraud

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Wow, you must still be traveling?

I wish I can travel like you.

Where did you get all the money to travel?
 

These are few of the many questions I get as a digital nomad (DN). At times, it's fun being a DN because frankly, thanks to the DNs from all over the world, they made nomadic lifestyle seem fun.

Join us before you lose out #fomo

Truth is, I sometimes feel like a fraud. A close friend of mine, as I met her at the cafe last night, shared her concerns with me.

A guy apparently looks up to her on Instagram and wanted to be like her because of her lifestyle (she's a DN as well).

I sometimes feel like a fraud, she said.

And I couldn't agree better. Not because she's one, but because I'm in her shoes.

Now let's have a look at how the internet describes 'Digital Nomads'…

Digital nomads are people who are location independent and deploy technology to perform their job. Digital nomads work remotely, which is now economically possible due to cheap internet access, smartphones and tech apps like Skype, or Slack to keep in contact with clients and employers. ➖Investopedia
 

Then I am not entirely 100% nomadic. The reason is simple. I am still based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. My homeland.

I may travel as often, but I'm not always on the move. I don't hop from one country to another.

That would mean, unlike the other nomads, my travel itinerary doesn't look half as adventurous like a real nomad's.

I felt like I was giving DN a bad name, even though I am a micro business owner, or a lifestyle entrepreneur (however you term it)

I have an existing business, which is flexible to take me around the world. But I didn't choose to travel from one country to another- leaving home.

The fact is that I'm still very much grounded on my home soils.

I also fondly recalled one of my favorite podcast of Tim Ferris'. It was one of the episodes with Debbie Millman. She was an inspiration to me (not because her name is also Debbie but) because I can resonate my feelings with hers.

As brilliant and smart as she is, with years of agency experience and her big brands' portfolio around her belt, not to mention her popular podcast Design Matters to boot, Debbie sometimes feels like an imposter too.
 
Say what? Really Debbie?
 
But here's what she has to say,

The one common denominator [that great thinkers and creators] have shared with me over the years is that they all feel like they have to get up every day and do it again. They all feel like they may very well be discovered as fakes, they very well may never, ever achieve what they had hoped.

 

Even Sheryl Sandberg, the COO of Facebook, is no exception.

There are still days when I wake up feeling like a fraud.

 

But why?

 
Apparently, there's a scientific explanation behind the workings of imposter syndrome.

A research explains that up to 70% of high-achieving individuals, particularly women, have suffered from Impostor Syndrome at one point in their lives. It seems that this syndrome tends to 'attack' women's self-esteem, damning their confidence and intellectual deception, despite how successful they are.

These people, who felt like they're fakes, chronically experience mashed emotions of perceived failure, anxiety and the disastrous cocktail of self-doubt, which undoubtedly correlates with self-sabotage and shaming.

According to Valerie Young, a career counselor, these are the same people who set 'exceedingly high expectations and unrealistic definition of competence for themselves.'


 

Still isn't satisfied with Debbie's answer, I seek out for more answers and reached out to my mentor/buddy/partner, who once quoted in verbatim,

If people will pay for your service/ product/ work, then you're not a fraud. You are being paid for what you offered.
 

So I kept my lips sealed and stopped another question on track, knowing deep down, he's probably right.

So now the question stands - Was it my personal choice of choosing home or merely the circumstances (i.e. family, loved ones) that held me back here?

Only time will tell.
 

In my next post, I will share my experience in overcoming the imposter syndrome. I'm not proposing a 'cure' for it but I'll just try to make your days better and easier on how to cope with these feelings.

If you have gone through the imposter syndrome yourself, let me know in the comments below so I can also quote you in my next post.
 

Image credit: All public domain images are taken from Stencil, unless stated otherwise.
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit.
I still have my portfolio and personal sites- virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com.
But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog.
Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :)
Follow me and I'll take you through my unpredictable journey- filled with wilderness, curiosity and randomness.
PS: Check out #steemitbloggers and click here to join the other bloggers

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deborism to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

don't know what your cure is , mine is slap myself in the face and get on with business. :)

Haha that's very honest with you but thanks for sharing :) @iliasdiamantis

I sort of know the feeling, I started working when just left school. I ended up in the construction industry as a consultant and had to deal with a lot of engineers. I had to act smart and educated while I was still studying to get my qualifications. I sometimes felt like I was selling them something I didn't really have to sell.

Exactly. That's how I felt too. But a friend told me, you can only fake it as long as you could until someone finds out. But if you're doing something to constantly improve yourself and live up to the identity you created, you're no longer a fraud @chr7is :)

@deborism, that was a very good write. If you ask me, I would agree that you aren't a fraud because you have offered your work/service. But I guess the imposter syndrome is more felt at a first person and yes time would be the best judge. Looking forward to next post about the "cure"!

Thanks @happycrazycon. I love your posts on recipes/ food... You also had really nice pictures :D Keep 'em coming in and looking forward :) Thanks... stay tuned for the 'cure' post haha ...oh! another thing, I noticed that you're a part time tutor too... may I know what subject are you teaching? I am in the education field as well :) #teachersunite

Hahaha I teach international school students homework, so not particularly any subject but rather any subject they need me in, in a way all homeworks! @deborism thanks for your kind compliments too :) How about u? #teachersunite woo-hoo! I'm half a teacher I guess haha.

I teach on subjects related to education, and linguistics :) and sometimes, help out on areas of digital marketing. I'm from both worlds. Long story short, life just happens LOL

Hahaha yeah, it just happens :) I'm reading more and more from you, cos you can really write and articulate well. @deborism :)

You got a 0.37% upvote from @upme requested by: @deborism.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received a 2.56 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @deborism. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Great post and great writing. I guess we all get impostor syndrome at one time or another, myself included.

Thanks for sharing @kalizad ... keep going :)

Hey good post here @deborism. Honestly, I know quite a few DN's who after a period of travelling have decided to station themselves in a certain location be it in their homebase or a cheaper country, as you can't always be travelling 365 days right? Travelling can be tiring and having to acclimatised with a completely new environment, culture, language can sometimes take lotsa time away from work. I myself, actually don't really travel that much cos I have other priorities, so I guess it really depends on how you perceive it. Maybe I have learned to not give a "damn" about what others think, that's why :) Upvoted

It's always good hearing wise words from you @karinzdailygrind. Means a lot coming from a person who knows the ins and outs of the industry well. And yes, there's been too much hype around travelling is the way of life etc etc... eventually we all settle in a place- be it now or future <3

Exactly. At the end of the day, do what works best for you irregardless of what other's say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60191.71
ETH 2410.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43