FLYING WITH A BABY ESSENTIAL TIPS / Sharing my Own Experience

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! Mommy Jyoce here! And today, I'll be talking about flying with a baby.

I've been flying with my daughter Tia from the Philippines to the UK since she was 7 months old and still travelling with her now that she is turning 2. My first flight with Tia was a nightmare. And let me tell you, it is one the most nerve wrecking experience I dealt with for some mishaps had happened. I wasn't prepared at all even though I ready for it. I thought it's going to be just fine!


1520189095601-959x1279.jpg


Oh, I can tell you I cried, pitying myself for flying alone with an infant when my arms were so numb and I'm so tired. A more than a day flight. Three to four transfers, waiting time, checking in and security checks wasn't easy if you are alone. So make sure someone is with you to go with you and give you a hand during your flight.


20170117_064203.jpg

Tia on our second trip to UK.


So infant, are babies from 2 months to 1 year. And toddlers are from 1 year to 4 years old. But some people consider toddlers being at the age from 18 months to 3 years old. While you can call babies from birth to 4 years old a baby! Well, no matter what my children ages are, they're still my babies. FOREVER!

Mommies, plan ahead of your flight! Have a checklist of what to bring especially if its a long haul that what we usually experienced. Rest well because you need energy for the fight. I mean flight. Be at the airport ahead of your flight schedule to give you time to get ready for checking in and security checks. Have a separate small bag for all your documents. Get ready for your passports, boarding pass and also bring your babies birth certificate. Don't forget to bring ballpen!

Here are my tips for a better flying experience with your baby:


USE THE TOILET AND CHANGE YOUR BABIES NAPPY BEFORE FLIGHT

Airports restroom are bigger so you can prepare yourself and your baby before your flight. There's not much room to walk about the plane especially if you are in the window seat. My daughter won't lie down on planes changing the board. She is so scared. And I need to deal with it. You can also ask the attendants to hold your baby if you need to use the toilet. They are happy to help.

DON'T BRING TOO MUCH LIQUID

I am telling you I regret bringing 3 full bottles of ready milk and a water. Nothings wrong in bringing liquids for babies. You are allowed to do so. But the thing is, passing into security checks. They will check all the liquids for possible restricted substance. And it really takes time for that! There's water on board, you can just ask if you need. So just one bottle made is good enough.

And beforehand, all the liquids must be separated. If you have liquids like creams, toiletries or makeups you must put it in a resealable bag. And you should know how many ml's are allowed. Usually, it's the only 100ml. Save your time in security checks too.

BRING A LIGHT STROLLER

During our first flight, I didn't bring any! I just have a carrier because I'm thinking that I cannot bring everything knowing that I'm all alone and no one would help me. But having stroller especially during hours of waiting time is very helpful. You will not be tired of carrying your baby all the time.

There's also available strollers in some airports. Like for example in Dubai airport under Etihad which I am grateful for since we are stranded there for like half a day.


IMG-1476225761891-V_crop_581x677.jpg


Don't bring a massive stroller! Remember that you need to hoist it onto the conveyor for security checks. That's too much carry about. Save you the hassle!

DRESS COMFORTABLY

I'm happy I did. Having a long flight, comfortable dress for moving about is a must. And in security, they will ask you to take off any metals (belt or shades), coat, boots. And imagine I'm carrying Tia and I need to take off my jacket and shoes and the carrier. It's really inconvenient for me. But that's the way it goes, we need to follow.

BRING TOYS!

Give your baby something to do. Bring her favourite toys or anything she loves to play with. Or if your baby uses a dummy, that would be great to keep her quiet. Especially if she started to cry, surely, you don't want to annoy other passengers.

A HEADSET IS A MUST!

Well, this is not applicable to the infant. They need ear protection plug instead. But for a toddler, their favourite shows or music plus headset is a must.


DSC_2798-1350x2393.JPG


Take this for example. Recently, were in for our Morocco trip. Going there, Tia cried terribly because she can feel the plane movements upon taking off and landing plus the pressure in her ears. She will take off her earplugs. And so on our way back to the UK we buy her headset and it works like magic! She does not feel anything and just couldn't care less. Nothing annoys her! All her attention goes to her favourite shows!

PACK A SNACK

Be ready. Keep her happy and to stop her from crying. I bring biscuit, baby food, lollipop or you can buy on board. Tia will cry still but will stop every time she sucks her lollipop. Lol

DON'T BRING TOO MUCH

20170807_053219-840x646.jpg

Know your necessities. What your baby would need? Nappies and wipes, extra clothes if long flights and under some circumstance, food, toys. Just bring what you need in carry on and others go to your check-in baggage. Be light!

GET READY FOR CRYING AND POPPING EARS SCENARIO

Babies will cry that's normal. The problem is when they don't stop. What will you do? Mostly it's the air pressure that they can't deal with. Best for babies that they are sucking their bottle or dummy during taking off and landing to clear the pressure in their ears. As we adult try to swallow or chew a gum to ease the pressure.

20161012_125235-1741x3095.jpg

Tia on her first flight.

I experienced like being hated by passengers when they all wanted to sleep, the light is off and Tia keep on crying and I'm hopeless. I apologized sincerely and wishing that they could understand that it's a baby crying. Passengers beside me transfer their seats and it's in favour of me so I can have more room but still, I feel sorry that they can't have a quiet nice flight. But babies first.

I told you, you need energy, because if your baby can walk, she will be surely exploring the airport and would love to walk about the plane!


20170807_201824.jpg

20170807_071143.jpg


We can all have different experiences. Maybe your babies would not be like my Tia. Or maybe you can handle it better than me. But I wish you all the best and have a stress-free flight with your baby!

I wish that this advice will be useful to you! Share to me your own experience and if you like to add more tips on this post, that would be awesome!


THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Your Dear,

Mommy Jyoce and Tia



20170807_071512.jpg


Everything is original. All images are mines and all taken by me.


Read my recent posts:


THANK YOU SO MUCH!


DQmfY2F1Au78A46UAtdTk9BgfiNuHo1DYSss2EonkQkBTsu_1680x8400.png
IMG_20180131_104817.png

Sort:  

great info..

and this one..

peek-a-boo..

Eat...... Bulaga!!

Salamat po sa info ma'am @dearjyoce!
Super cute ni baby!😍🤗

Wala po anuman!👍
Sige po next time sa ngayon po kasi halos ng mga niluluto na bahagi kona hehe!
Kaya mag-iisip pa ako na iba na hindi ko pa naiibahagi😍
Salamat po at nagustuhan mo ma'am ang recipe ko!🙏

woow
good man

So baby nice

a very good and impressive story and thanks for the information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42