MYOT - Make Your Own Toys for your kids! This time it's the Fishing Set!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Two weeks ago I had a great time making Halloween toys with my kid ...

Happy Halloween from my son Ethan and Rody the horse and how we had fun doing 'art'

So, I did it again last weekend. This time, I've given it some thoughts and decided to make a fishing set for my son. This job requires more delicate works so he cannot really do too much hands on activity with me. But I let him pick colors, pick which fishes to draw and he was happy doing it and also coloring by himself beside me. 

Okay, first you have to get materials and tools ready. I bought these materials from a stationery store. They cost me less than NT$200 (under US$7). The tools you need are all common office stationery - scissors, stapler, tape, marker pens ... Materials include a small flag (only need the rod), multiple color pearl plates (or if you prefer others), cotton thread, small magnets and some paperclips

Now, everyone is here on the table!!

First, let's make the fishes. 

  1. You can google search the images of the fish or anything you want to make. Add the keyword 'sketch' to your search might help you find suitable images to copy. Print these images out if it is more convenient for you. 
  2. Use the marker pen to trace them on the pearl plates of different colors! I drew four of them: a whale, an octopus, a tropical fish and a turtle! 
  3. Use tape to stick stapled pins to these cute creations. See the yellow circles in the photo.

I wrote down their English names on the back of them so my son can learn when he plays

It would be easy if you can buy some fishes and just staple them. But it would be less fun though. 

Next, it is time to make the fishing rod!! (see following photos for each action)

  1. Get all the stuffs you need on the table together.
  2. Here we have two choices for the hook: pins or paperclips, weaker or stronger magnets?
  3. I decided to use paperclip and the stronger (shiny) magnet. Use tape to adhere the  magnet to the  clip. You can try your best combination. Stronger magnets are not necessarily better as it might be harder to get the fish off the hook!
  4. Use cotton thread to connect the rod and the hood you made. Viola! Your fishing rod is ready!

See!? Now you and your kids are ready to have the fishing fun!

Have fun MYOT for your kids! See you next time. I still have many toy experience to share in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60220.70
ETH 2591.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55