You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Hero With A Bit Of Blood Lust

in #life5 years ago

A marvelous read, though at your expense. Amazing how the dark of night makes the same area in everyday, boring daylight, alive and scary with all SORTS of gonnagetcha things. Though the dog always knows what is up. When I worked in the woods alone doing owl work, I'd go out during the daylight, and park. And be fine. But when the darkness descended, EVERY noise in the woods was huge. A mouse, yikes. Bugs, small sticks breaking under only about 3 ounces of weight, they all sounded like goblins with big teeth. And one night a bat was 'doinging' my radio antennae on the top of the truck. Took me about an hour to get out and start my hike. We never really grow out of it, we just act brave so we can go on.

Big dog must be a grand help. Though a few times at work my boss would bring his dog out in the field. Every now and then the dog hid behind US. Now THAT really freaked me out to no end..."whose protecting who here?"! Pretty sure it was cougars. And the dog was saying, "I don't have to outrun you, just the cat".
Sorry, waxing on here about life in the past. But your story brought up all KINDS of stuff. Glad you made it home. The people boogie men always seem to be the scariest. Maybe for good reason. Though those same people don't usually want to mess with a dog. Again, for good reason. Wow, I wrote a book here. And on a Tuesday...

Sort:  

That bit about how the dark of night makes everything scarier, that's what I tell myself when I am wondering the woods. It will all look perfectly normal in 12 hours, because nothing is actually scary here. It doesn't always help though. The unknown is too deeply ingrained as scary.

Oh man, if Big Dog was hiding behind me I would be really scared too. Your adventures in the woods sound really lovely. I'm sure the look of the stars and the peacefulness of it all outweighed the fear factor more often that not.

Yes, I am generally only afraid of the people boogie men in my neck of the woods. I live in a pretty safe area, but boogie men do like safe areas too now and then. Fortunately Big Dog likes the taste of boogie men ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59941.18
ETH 2627.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46