Conversations With Katie, The Girl That Cuts My Hair - October 2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181025_142605593.jpg

I got there on time and Katie was waiting for me. I mentioned that 2 months from now it will be Christmas. Then Katie pointed out the pumpkin decorations and she pointed out a real pumpkin.

I told her one time someone gave me a small organic pumpkin. So I ran it through the juicer and drank me some pumpkin juice. I thought it had a good taste.

Katie told me the different ways she used pumpkins to make meals. I remember she mentioned roasting pumpkin slices. My mom used to do that too. I think she roasted it with a little brown sugar on it.

Then she asked if we were just doing a trim. I told her, Yes. Then I wanted to make sure. That means, Just like last time right? That is really what I want just like last time. She smiled and said, Yes, just like last time.

She mentioned that before I used to have longer hair. Yes that was true. It brought us back to 2007. You see I first met Katie sometime early 2007. I did have longer hair then.

It was her sister that I used to work with at the telephone company. She told me that her sister cuts her hair and I seemed interested. So she told me to go to a certain cosmetology school and ask for her by name.

So I remember getting haircuts at the school, then at other places. She worked at this one place that had mechanic like tool boxes that they used for station storage. We thought that cabinets might be cheaper. She didn't stay there too long.

We got into a discussion and I told her as a little kid I found my dad's scissors and started cutting my own hair. Of course it looked ugly being the first time I cut my own hair as some five year old. Then my dad told me we have to cut more off to make it all look even.

Katie told me she did cut her own hair at two years old. Well she told me she had to wear bands all the time to hide her super short bangs that stuck up.

Then we talked about the cabinets that just got painted. Then she mentioned that she doesn't even lock it all up. I asked, if anybody steals color for hair. Then Katie mentioned that if they really wanted to take something the hair blower might be something to take.

She told me her hairdryer cost $150 with a discount. Well I though that was a lot of money, but I used to only buy $20 hairdryers, but for constant use I can see that she would need something more durable and she would want a good name on that product.

She told me that the scissors in her hand really cost a lot. I mentioned did it cost $200? She said, No, a lot more. Well, with a bunch of guessing she told me that the scissors in her hand that she was cutting my hair costs $550 and that was with a discount. Also she bought them about 12 years ago. So right now they could cost a lot more.

I asked what is in these scissors, titanium? She looked at her scissors and said it did have some titanium in it. She told me that they were made by a Japanese company.

Then I thought about it. I used to look up how certain samurai sword makers used family secret recipes of mixing metals and certain ways of heating and cooling metals. Then it made sense to me.

Those scissors could have been a result of centuries year old secrets of metal mixing. Katie did tell me that she does not have to send these scissors out for sharpening as her other scissors she used to have.

That made sense and now I am thinking maybe this scissor company in Japan has roots to the making of famous samurai swords.

Anyway here is a picture of the scissor she was cutting my hair with. It is the one that is second from the far left. Yes that little guy is the one that costed her $550 with a discount 12 years ago.

IMG_20181025_144900083.jpg

She also told me that the one in the middle was the one she used to cut around my ears.

Katie finished my haircut. She always does a great job and I can't see myself going to anyone else. After I paid her we gave each other a hug and I told her I would send her the link to this blog.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Images are mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

cuddle_bodypillow.png

Thank you @cuddlekitten!

Thank you @david777111

Congratulations @david777111! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70