Conversations With Katie, The Girl That Cuts My Hair - July 2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180719_102226262.jpg

I got to Katie's work early. I would rather get there early than get there late. One good thing about getting there early is that I can take a picture of her station for this blog.

Actually as I was waiting Katie text me saying she is almost there. Well, I'm retired now, so I'm pretty flexible most times.

My appointment was at 10:30 am at the day of the appointment. Thing was I had an appointment at 8:30 am before that. Since one of Katie's clients cancelled on her, she text me to let me know that I can have the 10:30 am slot.

That is good cause I really don't want to get there too early, the 8:30 am slot was the only thing opened at the time. So the 10:30 am slot was actually better for me. I like that I can get appointments through text and reschedule through text also.

The first thing we talked about was the heat. I told her that I recently turned in some bottles to the recycler and as I was coming home I seen a free firewood sign. So I talked about how I loaded and unloaded wood in the heat.

I mentioned that even though I was tired already from sweating to and from the recycler and the thought of loading and unloading wood would be even more tiring, but it is a chance to get some free energy to heat the home in the cold season.

You see, I haven't even turned on the furnace since 2014. So using free wood that I pick up here and there helps in saving money cause, that causes my gas usage to remain low.

Well, Katie told me that when it gets too hot outside is when the air conditioner kicks into overdrive and it really gets cold at her station at times. Well, she uses the term "freezes".

I don't mind if it freezes cause you can always bring a jacket. I remember working for the telephone company that it sometimes got really cold inside. I remember the girls wearing blankets while working. I would rather have too cold than too hot.

Somehow Katie and I started talking about a certain flower shop. She told me that at one time it was on a certain street and then it moved farther west on the same street.

Well that reminded me of the time when I was executor to my friend, Michele's will. Katie knew Michele also as she cut her hair I think a few times before in Katie's early years of doing hair styling.

Well, anyway I had to find one of the beneficiaries mentioned in the will. So I was told by one of the other beneficiaries that the woman that owns that flower shop was married to the guy I was trying to find.

So I walked into the shop and said, I know this sounds strange, but I am an executor to the will of my friend, Michele and I need to find someone mentioned as a beneficiary and I mentioned his name.

The woman I talked to seemed to know that name. She told me that he works for his dad and runs several different car washes. I asked which one he works at. She told me at all of them. So he might be at one location today, but another location tomorrow.

I asked this young woman if she knows his address. Then she made a phone call. I think she called her sister by the way she was talking to her. She said something like, What was the address you were living at before the address you live at now.

Then she wrote it down and got off the phone and handed me the paper with the beneficiary I was trying to contact on. Wow, that was kind of easy. I thank that woman so much.

I told Katie that doing executor work was hard and that I really don't want to do it again. Then Katie mentioned what about your mom? I didn't think about that. Yes, I will have to take care of things for my mom when she passes away, God willing.

It is something I really don't want to think about. Death is also part of life. I just hope that day is a long time from today, but it will eventually come.

Before I know Katie is finished cutting my hair. She always does a good job. After I paid her we gave each other a hug and I told her I would send her a link to this blog.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

cuddle_cuddleblanket_teddy.png

posrep_cocoa.png

I salute you .. I think you are a good writer.. Thanks mr @David777111.

Nice content.. Good night mr David..

Congratulations @david777111! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

thank you too @david hopefully healthy always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42