Why having a pig was the best life decision I already made

in #life7 years ago

I am a person crazy about animals. I just love them and I would have a zoo if I could. But since I don't live on a farm or sanctuary, only cats and dogs were in my life until 2015, the year I did some research and found out I was born to have a pig. And it changed my life in such a happy way that now I just need to make everybody see how great pigs are. And cute. And lovely.

Pablo, the pig

This is the cutest thing you'll see today

But why a pig? Well, first of all, they can have a long life, up to 20 years. I don't know about you, but just knowing that the pet I love will be with me as long as possible warms my heart. We don't want to lose soon who we love. They could live forever.

And pigs are really smart, even more than a dog or a cat. I'm still impressed that my boy Pablo was using puppy pads to pee and poop from day one, I didn't need to do anything but put them there! And when he started to enjoy the life outdoors, he moved his ~disposal place~ to our little backyard. A pig full of initiative.

Most of the time, having a pig is like having a clever dog. The biggest difference is that pigs don't come home loving you already. They observe everything and they take days to start to feel something about you. It can be weeks until they fully trust you. Still, I understand it. If I don't love anybody right away, how can I ask a pig's love without doing anything to earn it? And now it's even sweet observing how our relationship grew. We love each other because we know each other.

Baby pig Pablo

Pablo's first day home

We travel together (I want to show him the world. For now, he already knows two countries and lots of Dutch cities), we play together, he falls asleep in my arms... He knows I will always be here for him and I feel loved and full of joy even when he "oincs" complaining about something. He will always be my baby pig and my family feels a bit more complete since he arrived.

If you're thinking about having a pig, all I can say is: go on! You'll find smiles, fun, unconditional love and a much more interesting life. Just please: make your research. Not every breeder is reliable, know that teacup pigs are not a thing, they're just babies and they will grow up (my Pablo is a Juliana Pig, also known as MICRO, and he is 35 lbs. Minis can grow up to 150 lbs), take a time to educate them, and be patient in winning their love. Everything should be fine and you'll have a friend for life. As I have my Pablo.

Me and Pablo at a Tulips Field

Sort:  

Your post made me smile! ^^ I am also a BIG fan of animals!
It looks like Pablo has a nice home thanks to you ^^

Pablo has this effect on people :) I'm glad it made you smile!

This is very nice)) also love animals) but I have only a hamster)

How is his name? Hamsters are so cute, those little hands <3

Congratulations @dannyfriedrich! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dannyfriedrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Omg thank you for posting this!!!! How cuteee!

Congratulations @dannyfriedrich! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56