When the Answer is No

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

The piece that follows could be categorized alongside Comparison (https://steemit.com/life/@danigirl/comparison if you're interested). I want to talk about the times that the answer is "no".


I am referring specifically to when the door of opportunity shuts- rejection letters, lost jobs, progress paused. These experiences are painful. This is because they involve sharing ourselves- the most intimate idiosyncrasies, the grind and hustle and strife we've endured. To do this, which is to commit to vulnerability, and be told no? It feels like a personal attack.

Let me be more concrete. I recently applied to nursing school, and was either rejected or wait- listed from each place. I busted my butt in college. I spent time cultivating my work ethic, my relevant experiences, myself. I wrote an essay that articulated who I am and why my passions exist. My application was an extension of me, and I offered it up to committees of academics. When they found me lacking, I was so hurt. I pictured a room of suited professionals saying with disdain, "she's not the one". It took me a couple days to recover my sense of self worth.

Here's the thing- I have no regrets. I am proud of the body of work shown on my resume. I am proud of myself, for the attempt. I know I will become a nurse, because this profession calls to my soul.

We invite progress into our lives with each attempt made. The opportunity this offers outweighs the risk of rejection because even rejection results in growth. I received a "no" in response to the question, "will you give me the education necessary to pursue my dream?". I am now motivated to pursue alternative routes, ask questions, and keep an open mind. For this, I thank the committees for their decision. I will return to my life with my head held high, knowing that my time will come.

Sort:  

Nice story, sometimes "no" is meant no at all. I believe, there is "yes" behind "no", just wait and keep trying you will get it. Nice ! :)

I very much agree! thank you for your support.

Keep going on, "The lady of luck" always give luck for people who keep their mind on track ! :)

That's the dream! I appreciate you reaching out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63