Comparison

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I want to talk about something I've been grappling with as of late. Due to the ever- changing madness that is being in one's twenties, I have been incredibly anxious. There are a couple questions indelibly inked on the backs of my eyelids... is what I'm doing enough? am I far enough along in my career and education? am I enjoying the process?


These questions are up to interpretation. Enjoyment, fulfillment, progress- these are worn differently by each of us. This fact can be maddening, as there is no objective standard, nothing with which to gauge ourselves. Other than the lives of others. This is problematic because it can lead to feelings of inadequacy and even resentment. My thoughts? Avoid getting up to bat in the game of comparison- it wrecks havoc on our psyches and relationships.

I so admire my friends. I think that they are rad humans who do cool shit and rock hard on their chosen paths. Sometimes, however, I find myself feeling envious of their successes. A great thing will happen to them and something will stir inside of me. It's an ugly feeling, usually resembling jealousy. What I want is to celebrate my friends wholeheartedly. Why is it that I instead feel challenged? I believe that this is a natural reaction, but one that demands fragile handling.

What I am beginning to realize is that comparison is the Titanic of ships- do not come aboard. When that inclination calls to you, take a moment before answering. Remind yourself that what you have done, are doing, will do... is great. It is admirable and enough. Take another moment to consider if there is anything you are unsatisfied with. If this rings true, begin to construct a plan towards change. Remember that it is possible to love the hell out of your present self while simultaneously progressing.

Despite what our world tells us, there is no hierarchical ranking system of the worth of humans. Any notion to the contrary is bullshit. You are still you regardless of where you are in your journey or how you choose to move through it. You are no better, nor worse when you acquire that title or receive that acceptance letter. Breath easy with the knowledge that you are noticed, celebrated, and loved.

Sort:  

Hello @danigirl,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

When you're in your twenties it's natural to look to others and compare your path to theirs. And when you get a bit older you might realize that is wasted effort. At least I felt that way. I realized that others were busy with their own lives and problems. (The grass is greener and all that...)
So walk your path, take time to appreciate your loved ones and enjoy the ride as it unfolds. Don't spend too much time fretting over comparisons.

Enjoy the journey because the destination is the same for all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81