Mindful Eating Pt. 2

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

I mentioned three of my principles for mindful eating in Pt. 1 of this series. They are: intention, awareness, and gratitude. Pt. 2 will talk about mindful eating in connection with others, with a focus on the gratitude principle.
--> Link to Pt. 1 of the series, for those interested. https://steemit.com/life/@danigirl/mindful-eating-pt-1


Consider the numerous times we eat throughout the day. Other humans were vital in getting that food into our hands. Beginning with the farmers, who grew and raised things to be delicious and edible. Then the truck drivers, the grocery employees, the family member who trekked to the store... I believe it is important to acknowledge the chain of supply each time we munch. Take a couple seconds to send energetic gratitude to the vital people. It can't hurt to put goodness out there and it is good to acknowledge that, like all things in life, it takes a village. Love on your village.

When I was in the worst of my eating disorder, I would turn down food that others had made. I didn't know what the ingredients were, and assumed that the meals would be far more calorically dense than anything I'd prepare for myself. I would avoid being home at meal times and barely nibble at group gatherings. This created a strange disconnect. People cook as an act of providing- to turn down meals was to turn down an offering of care. I could tell that it made others uncomfortable, but couldn't bring myself to risk gaining weight.

Being able to eat in a group, to cook in collective, to be a part of food traditions... these are the things I am most grateful for in my recovery. There is something so powerful about saying "yes" to a gesture made by another human. It acknowledges their labor of love and gives them them opportunity to take care of you. I've learned that people love to do this: to be engaged in an ongoing exchange of care- taking. Participate in the give AND take.

Food is fundamental. It is celebratory. It is a manifestation of cultures and customs. I believe in using it as a tool of connection, to gather all sorts of people around a table. Pull up a chair, there is always room for you.

Sort:  

Amazing article indeed. The importance of a community, of loving your community and partaking in the breaking of bread so to speak. It is an important part of your life indeed. The fellowship, bonds, and people that you spend time with during meal time are the people you spend your life with. You must eat to survive, you must must eat healthy to live hearty.

In all your pictures everyone looks so happy, you have a good family.
~ @Timbo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67