Do you Dare ?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Many times we are faced with a fork in the road. These moments are essential as we decide the next step of or journey.

final.jpg
new new.1799.jpg
Some decisions are of such importance that in the end it might control what possible final destinations we can reach. Faced with these moments it is common that our fear grabs ahold of us and tries to direct us along the road which we are more familiar with as opposed to taking that other road of exploration. So when faced with a fork in the road do you dare to take the lesser known path?
new new.1797.jpg
In 2007 I was faced with a fork in the road. I moved to China in 2002 because my father got a job in a Shanghai. After I graduated from High school in shanghai I decided I would study Chinese. 2 years later I was still not very good at Chinese and this was despite my goal to learn it in two years.
new new.1799.jpg
The environment was not good for learning Chinese. I was not integrating in the Chinese society because after Chinese classes I would hang out with other foreigners in Shanghai. When I would have the opportunity to speak Chinese with the local people they would be more interested in practicing their English with me...
new new.1797.jpg
Shanghai was eating me up. I was feeling like a tadpole in the Ocean and the feeling of alienation was getting stronger month by month. I had made a goal to learn Chinese, and I never want to give up before I reach my goal. Never would I know that learning Chinese was so hard and that integrating to Chinese society was so difficult.
new new.1799.jpg
I was at a fork in the road. I could choose to go back to Sweden and try to get on with my life there. It would feel like a failure though because it would be like I gave up. I could continue learning Chinese, however, time was flying by and I couldn't study Chinese forever, I would need to start University at some time.
new new.1797.jpg
After much contemplating and also many sleepless nights I decided I would take a step into the unknown. I would go big or go home. So I decided to kill 2 birds with one stone. I would study my bachelor in a Chinese University. I would be able to learn Industrial design like I always wanted and in the same time I would be forced to learn Chinese as my classmates would be Chinese and all the Classes would be completely in Chinese.
new new.1799.jpg
Pretty crazy idea, but I decided that I would rather know if I could do it than tonnot try it at all. There was actually a quote which inspired me a lot in my decision.
new new.1797.jpg
"To dare is to lose one's footing momentarily. Not to dare is to lose oneself."

  • Soren Kierkegaard
    new new.1799.jpg
    Staying in China and going to Chinese university was one of the best decisions of my life . They say that fortune favors the bold. I really think it did in my case. I had 4 of the best years in my life. I was the only foreigner in my class but I felt right at home. I now know Chinese fluently. But more importantly I know that I can do anything I set my mind to. So next time I face a difficult decision I will atleast give it a try, because in the end, if you ask me, the worst that can happen is never trying - don't you agree ?
    new new.1796.jpg
Sort:  

That's really awesome and very inspirational! I used to think that way when I was young and full of fire, not so much now lol. I'm not dead yet though, so I've still got a few mountains to climb left in me. It's just that now I need to choose smaller mountains ;)

Hehe even small mountains can have a beautiful view :) In the end the most important thing is to really enjoy that view when we reach the top as opposed to directly look for a new peak to climb :)

Great article.. You made me dare more

Glad to hear that my friend !

Wow! You are an absolute inspiring and brave man! You can be proud of yourself! It takes really much to make the decission you made! But you are the living proof, that you have to jump into the ocean and than just swim and don't care about anything else.

Thanks a lot my friend. It was a scary decision but like you says sometimes we have to put ourself in a situation of sink and swim and it's then we can discover that we can cross oceans !

You are welcome buddy!

Nice story, must have been a real adventure for you

Thanks Tony it definitely was. An adventure that I will always treasure that I was able to embark on

super story,
I'm going to give up a lot to paint every day, I'm quite anxious because it's an unknown road. I have no idea where and how my income is going to come, but I'm going for it. life is too short to not chase your dreams! Thank you for the story, it is very inspiring

Yes, paint every day. When you do, of course the quality of your work will improve by the week. Maybe you can commit to your goal for two years as dandesign86 did? I am going to follow you and go to your blog to see some of your efforts. ok?

super, thank you.

Glad to hear you liked the story. You make a good point life definitely is too short to not chasing your dreams ! Keep it up and success will find you sooner or later

thank you.

First, to congratulate you for learning the toughest language in the world. Another great thing is that you never give up, because only successful people never give up. Continue on, because with such a positive attitude and strong will, there are no limits for you.

Thanks a lot for this comment ! You are right, if you want to be successful you have to never give up !

Frankly speaking, Chinese is our future. I am sure that many people ask you to be their guide, translator and business partner.

It turns out that learning Chinese was even more valuable then my actual bachelor degree. China has big plans deep into the future landscape, so I definitely agree with you Chinese language will be very important in the future. Thanks for your comment !

Your story inspired me, i was just about to give up on something really important, thanks for sharing..

I'm very happy to hear that ! I wish you the best of luck in your endeavors my friend !

You took the jump and it all worked out such a great story and well done

Thank you a lot for that comment !

Always a pleasure :)

Great reflection! I feel that I, too, am at a fork in the road, and I plan on taking the daring option as well. One must risk before one can gain, isn't that right?

Upvoted!

Yes only if we try we will know, glad to hear you are going for it !

Best Brother!!! Never Give Up Without Hitting GoaL!!!

Thanks a lot buddy !

@dandesign86
Brother I Will Appreciate If You Only Upvote My Latest Post Please :) :)
@ah-2002 I Hope You'll Check Buddy! I Just Love Your Work :) It's Ok If You Are Not Free! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67330.50
ETH 3103.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78