Dogs like human attention and become more expressive when we look at them

in #life7 years ago (edited)

According to a new study it appears that dogs become more expressive when they know we are looking at them. This is more evidence that dogs and humans co-evolved. The study reveals that dogs follow human eye contact and if a human establishes eye contact with the dog the dog changes it's expressions in response. It was also found that domestic dogs in particular will steal food more often when they think the human is not looking such as when the human's eyes are closed.

I have a theory that if we can domesticate AI like we did dogs then we can avoid becoming the pets of AI. At the same time in my opinion the ideal is beyond mere domestication but merger where AI becomes our extended mind and fundamentally a part of us rather than a pet. To have cyborgization is to truly share an evolutionary trajectory with AI and in this way reduce the risks.

References

University of Portsmouth. (2017, October 19). Dogs are more expressive when someone is looking. ScienceDaily. Retrieved October 28, 2017 from www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2017/10/171019100944.htm

Sort:  

Dogs are great. Not on topic, but I have a theory that dogs can identify genetic links from smell - my last dog, sadly demised, was highly territorial if not agressive, and would bark solidly for several minutes when a stranger was in the house. When my wife's cousin from Australia pitched up unseen, just a sniff, pass friend, nary a woof. My current dog is equally territorial, but accepted my kids partners without a woof on first sight, presumably because they carry the scent of my children/identified as being pack mates....

I've had similar experiences. My sister's dog attacked my friend, but left me alone.

i agree that Dogs like human @dana-edwards

Q: Why did the dog cross the road?
A: To get to the "barking" lot!

Ha ha haaaaa....

“The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog.” (c)

That's why I'd rather spend time with dogs !

@minboot resteem this Post .
Follow me to Resteem!

I believe it... our dog seems to "know" when we're looking at her, and she's often looking at our faces (suggesting eye contact) as much as hands and the rest of our body posture. Interesting info!

Your post may be very good to follow you if you want me to upvote, otherwise there is no problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54