You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today's public education system.... or lack thereof..................

in #life7 years ago

these core classes started, for me, in middle school. I learned how to cook and sew in Home Economics, and then how to use a saw and make something productive with hands in shop class. And ALL the kids took both classes, both boys and girls. My daughter is a junior in high school and has been exposed to NONE of this. smh

Sort:  

Same here, I have one going into 8th and one going into 6th and a newborn on the way. I can only imagine what the school system will be like in 5 to 6 years when we have to start that process over. I have complained to my school board, of course my concerns always go ignored and fall into deaf ears. I've also been blocked on Facebook by my local school board rep for voicing my concerns in open school board forums

there are instances here in West Virginia, where a child is becoming aware that if they go and voice their displeasure with the way things are at home, over a truly trivial matter, the counselors are all about "reporting" before they have their story straight. Don't get me wrong, I understand the state mandates, but GEESH, put that energy into giving them an education and quit worrying about trivial matters that they say are going on in the home. Reporting a parent to the authorities because a game console got taken away as a punishment is pure stupidity when you are being ignorant as to the REAL needs of the child. I, on the other hand, received physical discipline, and I am still here to tell about it. It never hurt me, and I grew up with a father who was very old school. Today I am thankful for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81