What do you say to someone who's lost a loved one?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Image of funeral

Imagine — a friend or coworker calls you and says that his dad/mom/brother/sister/best friend has died. Then there is that awkward silent moment. You're wondering, "What do I say now?"

You want to be empathetic and, more than anything, not screw up. What. Do. You. Say? Make a solemn promise now that you won't ever say, "I'm sorry for your loss."

Why not? It's what the police and the coroner and the court clerk say. This statement is so overused that it's become meaningless. There are better ways to convey your sympathy and the person you're saying it to will appreciate your effort.

Before age 30, I'd said, "Goodbye," to grandparents, siblings, cousins, and several friends. Earlier this year I lost my husband. I'm very familiar with the good, bad, and ugly of condolences for a lost loved one. Here are some of the better ones that have been said to me over the years.

  • "Having never lost a brother/sister/cousin I don't know you feel, but I'm sorry that this has happened."
  • "You must be reeling from this. I'm so sorry."
  • "I'm so very sorry to hear this news."
  • "I can't imagine what this must be like for you and I'm sorry."

The best response (from a good friend): "How can I help? Who can I call for you?"

Part of life is losing people that we care about. It's possible to convey sympathy in a graceful manner, and not be awkward about it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @curiousme! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @curiousme! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69076.52
ETH 2742.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72