Sort:  

I commend you, @curie, for spotting this great story!
You have real talent, @ginnyannette! I wouldn't be surprised to hear you're a published writer outside Steemit - like @deeanndmathews, @sidequest, and now @honeydue and @byn, among others from Freewritehouse. Did this story arise from Day 641: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: swirls of cigarette smoke? I'd nominate this for the Friday Favorites though you don't have a #freewrite hashtag.
I absolutely love Big Dog and the way you describe his paws and leonine meandering.
I love the sense of mystery and suspense you create.
You really are a natural!

Thanks so much for your kind words. I didn't write it from the freewrite, that just happened to be an interesting coincidence. If I had seen that prompt I might have jumped on it though, as that one really appeals to me.

I love Big Dog too - he is all gentlemanly charm or brute-force when necessary. He's like a romance novel character...you know, if he was human ;) I just gave him a pat on the head and he opened one sleepy eye and distinctly looked like he was thinking: Yes, I'm ridiculously wonderful. I know.

Thanks for the reblog, and for just reading. I really appreciate it.

Ohhh I love Big Dog even more now, imagining his human incarnation as a romance hero! He reminds me our our dear, departed Blaise, a 115-pound lion of a collie, massive paws and leonine mane. "Aw shucks. She called me wonderful!" he'd say. Blaise was all humility. And devotion. But not the big dumb block of dog his sister Bailey made him out to be. She was part cat, I swear.
You could just add that hashtag #freewrite now, or I could just slip your story into the Friday Favorites, if you think you'll rub elbows with us anytime in the future--we'd love to have you among us at @Freewritehouse!

She was part cat, I swear.

Lol! Dogs always strike me as having been humans in a former life, but maybe that is just us humans pushing ourselves onto what we love.

I'll edit in that freewrite tag. Might as well, since it worked out to mesh so well like it was meant to be.

Dogs are better than humans in their unconditional love and non-judgment: bad hair day? What's that? Deodorant failed? Garlic breath? It's all good!
I've nominated you for the weekly freewrite favorites, and I hope you'll share more of your fiction with us, or nonfiction, or whatever you want to call an essay like this one. Your flight of imagination (what's the source of that smoke?) is a pleasure to read.

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59894.48
ETH 2608.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46