The Past Can Wait

in #life8 years ago

Example Garage clutter - very like mine before clearout

I'm in the process of clearing out the garage, ready for our move to France next month.
I don't, after all, want to pay for someone to move our junk from one land-mass to another. That would just be madness.

But sifting through, and trying to decide what's helpful and what's not can be tricky.
Or it was, until I came across a plastic red box full of stuff - memorabilia crammed in one place that maybe, just maybe, I may want to get nostalgiac about one day. It's amazing how such a gem can put other 'stuff' into perspective.

In this box, I found a bulging hard-bound orange-covered book of... something.
I opened it, and remembered...
I used to keep a diary. When I first went to college, over twenty years ago now, I kept a diary.

In that diary, I would write. And I would paste tickets and leaflets and programs from concerts or films I had seen.
I'd stick letters received from people I wrote to regularly.
A lot of letters. A lot of people. Some I had forgotten about.
Some, I hadn't even remembered I had kept in touch with.

It was disconcerting, as I flicked through to read occasional pages that caught my attention. It was as embarassing as I would have imagined in some places, the infantile talk of the sex-obsessed teenager.
And in others, it was poignant.

But the biggest impact?
I realised that many of the things from this time were not quite as I now remember. Time had merged many parts of that time into a general impression.

I thought my family had nothing to do with me by the time I got to college.
Not quite true.
There were letters from my Father and my Sister (and her very weird partner at that time) that I had forgotten about.
And letters to people I don't even remember being in touch with.
A girl called Dawn, for example, that I thought I had met only once.
It appears I had kept up correspondence with her for some time, maybe with the hope of something more.

And then the entries stopped.
I don't know why. Maybe it was around the time I met my now wife, and my life suddenly became very busy, very full, and with more meaning than before.
I didn't feel like I needed a diary, I think.

It's a shame. Because over 20 years later, I closed the orange hardbound diary of scrawlings from the past in a box, taped it up, ready to go to France, with one thought in my mind.

"What else in my life have I forgotten? Who else was important to me that I have reduced down to a single incident, a hook for how I perceive the history of events I once experienced?"

Boiled down, as I closed the garage door for the night: "Where did my life go - when all I have left is near-forgotten snatches of selected events"?

But that's ok. There's a future to look forwards to, and the now to get through.
The past can wait.

[ from August 2015 ]

Sort:  

Hi, @cunninglinguist
Copying/Pasting articles without permission is copyright infringement.
Here is the source of your article:
https://modxtreme.quora.com/The-Past-can-Wait
If you want to share a news story, simply link to the source, and include your original commentary, and possibly small quotes from source. Copy paste is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

Please, consider writing original posts,
thank you!

@steemcleaners

Congratulations @cunninglinguist! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71