Father Ramblings #003: Unexpected Events

in #life6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

Hope everyone has been doing super well! The crypto market seems to be back on upswing mode, so hopefully, we see a much more engaged platform in the future. While this may seem like a no-brainer, there tends to be a direct correlation between the price of cryptocurrencies, and the engagement on the Steemit platform. It makes sense. Most people are horrible (including me) at being patient, and we tend to spend as soon as we receive. For people who have been HODL-ing, I'm sure there will be a time when that "HODL" mentality will pay off.

I'm going to say this in advance, but the writing today, will really just be a rambling, with no set agenda.

Image Source: http://thehumanfactor.biz/let-brain-take-road-less-traveled

Anyways, I'm sure all parents will relate, but when raising a kid, there are all of these twists and turns that you learn to accept the fact that life will not be structured anymore. For the most part, you learn to live with it, but I really learned the hard way this past weekend. Last week was really taxing for some odd reason. Usually, at a commerce company, it's the start of the month and the end of the month that takes its toll, but it was the middle of the month this time around. I was truly looking forward to the weekend, where I purposefully decided not to set any appointments with fellow parents, and get some rest at home.

First, my daughter decided to sleep really late on Friday (she tends to go to bed at 8 and sleep at 9:30ish, but Friday, she went to bed at 8 but slept at 12). I'm not trying to be sexist or anything, but when I compare my son and my daughter, my son tends to sleep much faster than my daughter. I'm hypothesizing that girls tend to use up less energy throughout the day, and so before they end up sleeping, they need to get rid of all that pent-up energy. Hence, it takes them more than an hour to end up going to dreamland. My son is all energy throughout the day, and so when he plops on the bed, he is snoring within 20 minutes.

Image Source: Visit Korea

Second, my daughter decided to wake up at 5 in the morning. You realize that you aren't 18 anymore and that when you only get a few hours of sleep when your body has been really tired, it feels like you were up all night. Now, right as she woke up at 5, she wanted to go out. She can get a tad bit fussy at times (which is a complete understatement), so instead of increasing the chance that my son and wife wake up at 5 in the morning, I decided to go for a stroll outside.

Pro - One thing that's pretty nice about where we live is that there is a park that sandwiches a stream that goes on for miles and miles, and is the perfect place to go for a stroll (see image above).

Con - It is the start of the summer that goes right after the monsoon season, which means sweltering heat, for the next month.

I don't think Korea is actually hotter in terms of temperature than where I used to live back in the states, but back in the states, I was only outside for outdoor activities. In Korea, you are walking all over the place, and the humidity level is pretty high. Combine those factors, and you have conditions that are ripe for discontent.

There she is anxious to get out of the elevator.

There are really times when my kids are the most adorable people in the world, and times when they literally suck all of the energy out of me. I guess making sure that at least my mind is positive and I exert a positive atmosphere whether or not I am tired or not is the key to being the perfect parent ... ... ... but sometimes I am human, right?

Thanks for listening in on my rambings and sorry that this one is so unstructured. Hope there are people that relate.

Have a great week everyone!
Chris


Father Ramblings Series:
Steemit Introductory Post
Father Ramblings #001: Introduction
Father Ramblings #002: Homo Novus

Startup Blabber Series:
Startup Blabber #001: Communication Within a Team
Startup Blabber #002: Most Important Aspect of a Startup
Startup Blabber #003: There shall always be conflict!
Startup Blabber #004: The Hamptons Five
Startup Blabber #005: The Cap Table
Startup Blabber #006: The Importance of Feedback
Startup Blabber #007: Family
Startup Blabber #008: Taking Care of Your Health
Startup Blabber #009: De-Stress
Startup Blabber #010: Benefits of Coffee
Startup Blabber #011: A Type of Communication, the Speech

Althea Talk Series:
Althea Talk #001: Introduction
Althea Talk #002: My Journey Into Skincare
Althea Talk #003: Inner Beauty
Althea Talk #004: Spruce Up the Office
Althea Talk #005: Our 3rd Anniversary!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12