Startup Blabber #008: Taking Care of Your Health

in #business6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

What is the one thing that we all forget, especially during the early stages of a startup? Our health. It's super important for us, but something we all place on the side with the notion and assumption that we can recover our health in the future.

After graduating from college with the understanding that my body was absolutely indestructible, I came to Korea and began my life as an entrepreneur. For some odd reason, there was so much to do and only a few bodies to perform those endless tasks. One of the really cool things about Korea is that everything, and I mean everything, can be delivered to your doorstep. As a result, I would not leave the office to go eat and we would just order everything in. We would eat pizza, hamburgers, fried chicken, and anything else that was considered junk food and tasted delicious. A sedentary life in front of the computer, eating countless calories of useless junk food, getting no sleep, and not getting any exercise is a great death combination.

Anyways, after a good few years of this lifestyle, my body started to give. I'm surprised that my body even lasted those years! I initially felt my body being sluggish, it would be harder for me to wake up in the morning, I could just tell that I wasn't in a good place. I ended up going to the doctor. Lo, and behold, I received a diagnosis that I was in pretty bad shape: high cholesterol, high liver somatic index levels, large deposits of fatty liver, high blood pressure, it was just the works. Initially, I was just going to shrug it off. I was still young. I could reverse this in a blink of an eye.

I was beginning to enter my 30's and what I realized was that my body wouldn't rebound as fast as it used to, and I was just 30. Remember when you were young and you would always wonder why your parents would not recover as fast as you could? Or when you got to be past the age of 30 and could not drink like you did in college ? This was exactly the feeling I was beginning to experience. I tried to exercise, starting with cardio, 4 days a week, for a month. It was very demotivating to see that there was very little to show for such a big change in my life (at that point). It has taken me about a year to get back where I wanted to. While exercising is a must, the biggest change that I had to do was changing my diet.

What I wanted to say in this post is that when you start your venture, please remember to eat responsibly and exercise regularly. It's pretty straight-forward, but coming from someone that has been in the straits of unhealthiness, I want to iterate that this is one of the most important things to remember. I may not exercise as much as I used to, but I do still take walks outside for 30-40 minutes, just reflecting on the day. Sometimes I pretend that I'm on a treadmill and just end up "jogging", standing at my desk and just watch some Youtube or Netflix.

Thanks for listening in on another one of my ramblings! Have a good one everyone!
Chris

More about myself:
Steemit Introductory Post

Startup Blabber Series:
Startup Blabber #001: Communication Within a Team
Startup Blabber #002: Most Important Aspect of a Startup
Startup Blabber #003: There shall always be conflict!
Startup Blabber #004: The Hamptons Five
Startup Blabber #005: The Cap Table
Startup Blabber #006: The Importance of Feedback
Startup Blabber #007: Family

Althea Talk Series:
Althea Talk #001: Introduction
Althea Talk #002: My Journey Into Skincare
Althea Talk #003: Inner Beauty

Sort:  

nice post about health 👍 have a great day!

Years of violating ones body with this kind of life and food definitely leaves its marks, I can tell.

I heard that eating in Japan, even the "fast food" industry is much less unhealthy than in the US and Europe. I kinda figured that the same would be the case for Korea, but maybe I was wrong there.

Or maybe it actually is and we just found the reason why your body was able to hold out for that long.

Well, I think after living in the US, the quality of the food is not necessarily better in Korea, but the portions are definitely smaller. There is no "super size" in Korea. Also, when living in Seoul, you tend to walk much more than if you were in the states, where having a car is the norm. Maybe a few of the reasons why somewhat in better condition than if I were in the states.

That makes sense. I actually have a big problem with sizes as well. Living in Korea for a while might actually be a healthy experience.

Come on over!

I really should. When I get the chance and the means, I really want to travel in general.

Congratulations @csy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48