Harbor Freight: The Good, The Bad, And The Free; My Poor Mans Product Review

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes Money Is An Issue, And You Have To Make The Most Informed Decision Possible

I am in no way affiliated with Harbor Freight or any affiliate in any way. I often am on a budget as a Do It Yourselfer and have a Harbor Freight very near to me. This review is based on my many years of experience shopping there and is my honest review of the items at hand. You may have a view that differs from mine, please do not use this as definitive fact but simply my interpretation of a product.


Image Author: Maitra, Image Source. Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported

Being a U.S. citizen I am well aware that most of the products being sold by Harbor Freight are produced in China. I understand this but when on a budget, I often wish the American market could compete. Being on their email list allows me to receive super coupons as well as free coupons. The free coupons allow for a free item if any purchase is conducted.

The Bad

These are products I have purchased several of and have failed every time. Others on this list are products that I might have problems with but function and I cant put on the good list simply because of price.

Socket Adapters are at the top of this list. I have purchased many of these because they simply break. 3/8ths to 1/4 break often but I understand the torque limit on those, but I have busted every single one of the 1/2 in to 3/8ths adapters. EVERY ONE. Yes they come in handy when every torque wrench is a 1/2 inch and space can be an issue with 1/2 inch sockets. I would recommend buying these in pairs, because when you bust an adapter and need it later, you will wish you didnt have to take the trip to the store.

Vice Grips are next. I have several of these in different sizes and every single one has buckled under severe pressure. When I went to really grab down on something they buckle and warp, not allowing for a very sturdy grip. I somehow came across a pair of MAC vice grips that keep a rigid structure so I understand its just due to cheap construction. Do not expect these to stay very rigid for long.

Socket wrenches are another no go item. Most of the wrenches offered by Harbor Freight have a swivel function that can often impede the purpose of the wrench. A rigid handle is needed to make things smooth and get to the problem at hand. The flexing of the swivel will cause more issues than it can solve. This is why swivel bits were created. The king pin that attaches the head to the handle will break (or fall out) over time leaving you with a useless paperweight. Also the ratcheting function has a very cheap feel, and will break with too much force.

I added the torque wrench to the list because there are others on the market that are slightly more expensive but do a better job. The lower the torque setting on this wrench the LESS you feel the click. In one instance, I didnt realize it had clicked before I felt a good feel of torque. They will click and continue to torque. These wrenches ARE good with larger torque settings, id say at 45 foot pounds (60 Nm) and above. The click is more prominent, but the distance between ratchets is large.

I have been a big fan of large steel tools at Harbor Freight due to price and functionality. I purchased this Pickle Fork/ Tie Rod Separator to do exactly that, separate a tie rod. Wow was I surprised that it bent first try. I needed a tool in a clutch this situation and was severely let down. It bent like butter. I would not recommend this fork.

The cheapest brand of Air Hose at Harbor freight is what is shown. This air hose functions as intended, the only issue is that it coils up like a slinky. It is not flexible at all and tends to kink. The stiff nature of the hose causes it to shift and leak at the seals. Upgrade to a more flexable hose for better reliability.

The Good

At the top of this list I had to include their electrical tape. This tape comes in roles of 10 for a few bucks and is WAY cheaper than any other brand on the market. It works as intended, is very sticky and weather resistant. I have purchased one pack of rolls and am still working my way through them several years later. If you have a chance, purchase all the tape you need.

Next on the list keeps with electrical and is their heat shrink and electrical connectors. Now I know its not pictured but I prefer their waterproof heat shrink over any other. You never know when water might intrude in an electrical connection. If that is not available then their regular heat shrink will do. Also the electrical connectors sold are of better quality than other brands sold (such as Walmart). The plastic contained in these connectors is less rigid and when crimped will form to the bend and not split.

Cut off wheels are also an item sold in bulk that can be very cheap. NOTICE: these are very dangerous and can fragment causing great bodily harm!! Cut off wheels can become very expensive if being purchased elsewhere but I have found that Harbor Freight cut off wheels work as intended and when purchased in bulk can save a ton!

Their Tap and Die set comes in metric and standard and is a life saver for anyone that has cross threaded a bolt or fudged up the threads of a bolt. Any time I was confused on a bolt thread pitch I would consult this kit and find out easily what bolt I needed before buying it. This kit is still new to me but I have no complaints thus far.

The Harbor Freights Hole Saw Kit is at the cheaper end but does the job very well. I have used and abused this kit severely and it continues to keep cutting. The set screw for the drill bit is not as grabby as it once was but the whole saws cut as intended and I also destroyed a few using them as items to press out fittings.

This Harmonic Balancer puller has stood the test of time. I have had this kit for over 5 years and have used it to pull various objects. The differing number of bolts and washers make this kit versatile and able to pull a plethora of objects from their seats.

The Harbor Freight Welding Helmets are an item I could not live without. As a hobby welder I didn't understand how helmets worked. This helmet was the cheapest I could find and worked awesome, but as a newbie I didn't understand the plastic shield on the outer portion was to prevent splatter. I removed this plastic piece as I figured it was useless. I come to find out that welding causes splatter that will destroy the optics of the helmet. I had to purchase a second helmet due to this error and now understand that they sell plastic inserts to replace when the splatter has decreased visibility. Aside from that, I prefer this helmet to other more professional ones due to the fact I have dialed in the settings for my eyes.

The Vice purchased has been beaten to death. The handle is bent and often it is hard to go in and out but it is still a functioning unit. Having a vice is invaluable and this vice has served me kindly. I have no issues with the swivel function and can use the anvil portion no problem.

This Angle Grinder is the only item on this list that I would pay for that is electronic. Harbor Freight has a bad reputation on electronics which is why you wont see many on this list. Using a super coupon, this grinder can be obtained very cheap. I WILL ADMIT, they are a hit and miss with quality. I have one that has been used and abused for years, never letting me down and always sounding like a champ when started up. My uncle on the other hand recently purchased one for a job and it sounded very weak, and did not last long. I have to put this item on the good list because the one I purchased has been an absolute champ.

As I had mentioned earlier, Harbor Freight has very cheap solid steel hand tools. This long screw driver is an example. You never know when you need leverage without a pry bar.

Again, their hand tools are something that function at a low price. When it comes to screw drivers, I decide to stock up as I loose them often.

One thing Harbor Freight has a plethora of is needle nose pliers. They come in all shapes and sizes and you never know when you will need a certain set of needle nose pliers. Cotter pins can be a pain and with all angles and sizes provided, you wont be disappointed.

Sockets are an item that seem to get misplaced often. Harbor Freight sells kits for fairly cheap that hold up under pressure. I have never broken a Harbor Freight socket once but I have lost several in the process of working on a vehicle. Replacing sockets can get expensive if you are only replacing one, so that is why I recommend Harbor Freight sets.

Harbor Freight sells a mean Deep Socket Impact Set that I have beaten to death. I have used these to pound out all sorts of things and they still continue to function. I lost the container to all the sockets long before I lost any of the sockets themselves. I have had this socket set for almost a decade and have never needed any other. The only reason any other would be needed is if the nut or bolt was larger than the largest socket available in the kit.

Open End Wrenches are another thing that come in handy and I have not broken one of Harbor Freight's wrenches yet. Yes I have lost them but not broken a one. With the price of a set and the durability, they seem to fit the picture. Only issue is that all sets stop at 19mm and dont go to 21mm

The Free

These are items that can be purchased with a free coupon but also come in very handy. When its free and it functions, why not?

At the top of the list is the free pack of batteries. They come in AA and AAA. They are not the best batteries on the market but when they are free its hard not to say no. Having a head lamp or object that requires batteries be taken care of for free is always a plus. Batteries are an item that are not cheap at all.

Tarps are another thing you can obtain from Harbor Freight for free. Who doesn't need a tarp? In Southern California the weather can be all over the place so having a few spare tarps can come in handy. Although the free ones are small, they can still suffice.

Ironically, Elastic Tie Downs are free as well. Get a tarp and also tie it down for free. Tie downs are invaluable when you have a truck or something you are trying to keep secure while traveling. They come in handy when not traveling if a tarp is needed to stay secure through bad weather.

I hope this product review gives you an idea of what you may be purchasing. I will continue to purchase from Harbor Freight and find what works and what does not. I hope you do the same and thank you for following along!

All photos, unless otherwise stated or sourced, were taken by @csusbgeochem1 and may not be reused without permission. Animations and cover photo created by @csusbgeochem1 using GIMP.

If you found this story interesting you can find more like it by following @socalsteemit and help us expand the Steemit community together

Join the SoCal Steemit Discord group today and meet others around you

Sort:  

gotta love Harbor Freight, especially for those tools that you might only use once for a project. I also agree with you on the heat shrink, its decent quality and at a good price. I prefer the 'marine grade' with the adhesive/waterproofing.

One thing I would add to the no-go list is drill bits if you intend on using them on metal. they just don't hold an edge... (they work fine if you are drilling wood, or maybe even aluminum).

Congratulations @csusbgeochem1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87