Life at University: My First Year Experience!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! For those who follow my articles, you'd know that I'm 18 years old and currently in first year university! I realised that this is MY blog, and all I've written about is crypto and crypto related stuff, so for a change I'm gonna write something more personal! Maybe you've realised that the language is already a lot more informal compared to most of my other posts haha

(Stock image used)

First few weeks

I was lucky enough to come to university with many friends that I knew , my first lecture I walked in with about 10-15 students from my old high school that I knew already! This made the whole process a lot less daunting. The uni I attend is quite large (perhaps 15-20 minutes walk from one corner to the other), so for the first 2 weeks I was too scared to walk around by myself, so literally 100% of the time I was at uni, someone was accompanying me for the first 2 weeks. I'm literally the worst with directions so I felt so lucky to have people less stupid around me to guide me :)

Personal life

A few weeks into uni, my somewhat long term girlfriend of almost 4 years broke up with me, 4 years might not sound like a long time to many of you but it's almost 25% of my life! That made me quite sad and unhappy for a few weeks but I guess I've recovered a lot from it, I have many supportive friends who have helped me along the way and I've been a lot more active in terms of going out and playing sports!

Work load and grades

At first I found it fine, but due to the break up I focused a lot less on work and a lot more on gaming. Once I was feeling better, most of my time spent on gaming was re-channeled into going out with friends, being social and playing sports! My grades have taken a massive hit from mid 90s to around mid 70s average (recent tests I've gotten around 50-60). In fact, I have 6 assignments due in within the next 2 weeks that I should be doing but I'm currently writing this article and day trading on Binance LOL

Active involvement (staying at home vs being at uni)

At first I organised my timetable so that I'd only have to be at uni for 2 days a week, however before long I realised this was a TERRIBLE idea. Not only are my 2 days SUPER long, like 12 hour for one day and 6 hours for the other day (both starting at 8am), I realised I enjoy being at uni and I'm there 5 days a week anyway, either for social commitments or sporting commitments, or to study, or a mixture of all of them! For those at uni, I recommend BE THERE! Legit, being at uni has made me so happy last few weeks and I've made many new friends! From the older people doing my course, they tell me that uni is the best years of their life (which is why they're back), and for me to cherish every second of it because it's all downhill from here HAHA! Perhaps a bit cynical, but after being actively involved at uni, I feel like what they say could be true!

UNI LIFE IS EXPENSIVE!!

Eating food, going to events, paying for public transport/fuel, it really adds up! My only job right now is tutoring job which earns me barely anything a week (not enough for food) and my only other source of income are my cryptos (which I hate selling) so I'm really feeling it! Just food is around $100 a week if I'm constantly eating out, sports is about $20 a week and random events end up being anywhere between $20 to $100! Not even including the random movie/pool/karaoke outings, this really does add up!

After my exams are done, I'm hoping to look for a job! If anyone has anything hit me up ;)

Rant over!

Was fun! Maybe I'll post more personal blogs in the future, hope you guys enjoyed the read!

Follow me for more informative posts and your chance to win free Steem every week by simply being active! More information here!!

Sort:  

First off, congrats on surviving your first year so far! College is a whirlwind but it's an amazing time. I'd say soak in as much of it as you can - join all the clubs you want, meet new friends, get to know professors (you'll thank yourself later for this in life!), and just generally use the time to better yourself/figure out what makes you happy.

(Plus if we finally get our bull run - you won't have to worry about random jobs!)

Thanks! I agree uni is really as much as you make of it, the more you put it the more you get out! Thanks for your advice :)

Hoping for bull run soon, also hoping to be able to make a bit more from Steemit!!

I imagine you walking from one side to another in the university without knowing where to go, it is frustrating. I have not had the opportunity to study at the university, I have had a very difficult life, but I can tell you that despite that, I always read and visit universities, striving to learn and be better. I think that is the best stage in the life of every person. I was impressed with how expensive you say what it is to pay, 100 dollars are the salary of several years where I live, imagine here the monthly salary of a person is 3 dollars, because of the terrible situation that we live. What is the name of the university where you attend? It is a very beautiful place. I have little sp, but I support you with my vote !. I liked how you tell things in a relaxed way in your life, but I would like you to publish more about your university, it is always nice to know more about the people that you consider your friends! :)

I wish you a happy day and a better life

Thanks! At first it was very frustrating finding my way around the place, there are probably more than 10 quite large buildings on the campus, with some buildings 15 minutes away from each other!

Eating at uni 1 meal is around 10 dollars, if I eat 2 meals per day on campus that's already $20 a day! 5 days a week and that's $100!

It's a shame your country is having such a crisis, therefore I'm sure Steemit must really help!

The image I used is a stock photo, meaning a random photo I found from the internet! I would not like to disclose where I go to uni because I don't want my real life friends knowing about this blog, it's my own personal private little thing :)

I will post more about my life in the future! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

Wow it is quite expensive then paying the meals over there. I suppose you live on the sides of Europe, on the other side of the world. I would like to give myself a tour there.
spending so much time walking can be boring, although in my case, since I am such a rare person, I would not care. Yes, steemit is helping me a lot, I tell you that I live of this 80 days ago more or less, that's why I'm so active, besides that I like it a lot, I've met some very interesting people, among them you: D

I live in Australia! I actually enjoy walking too! I used to walk to and from school many years ago, it was around 40 minutes walk but I enjoyed it :)

I hope Steemit keeps helping you! I think you said that people in your country only earn around $3 per month, so does that mean you would earn less than 1 Steem per month doing your regular job? What job do you do in Venezuela? Also, how do you convert Steem to local money in Venezuela?

Whatever the answers to those questions are, I've tipped you 1 Steem to help you in your situation :)

I love australia!,. I have a good friend there, that she and her husband work in electrical repairs, have their own company and do well. I tell you that I worked for a company for years, doing surveys and traveled all over the country doing - talking about walking through the comment you made me -. currently the minimum salary in venezuela is 3 dollars, but due to the economic situation with 3 dollars we can only buy 1 bottle of coconut cola and 1 bottle of ketchup. The crisis is dramatic and today, May 1, the government decreed an increase in salary, taking the salary to $ 3 because before it was actually $ 1 per month. With this increase, prices will skyrocket and we are waiting for the military to reveal themselves and put an end to this hellish problem. the prices go up every half hour, it is impossible to live because among so many problems there is no cash on the street, no food is available, there are people eating from the garbage, it is horrible all brother. I'm sorry to have to tell you about it, but it's important that other people in the world really know what's going on in Venezuela, because the government is sending out flawed information to other countries.
1 steem is currently enough to buy food for 2 days, and I appreciate the help. but this is due to the increase in prices and the unbridled corruption that has destroyed the country bro. bad thing really.
Currently I only live from steemit friend, a few minutes ago I received the vote of a large account for the first time in 2 months, and that will help me a lot.
And yes, it means that currently anyone here receives less than 1 steem per month for a job and a regular salary, it's completely crazy. the normal expenses of someone monthly are in the order of 10 to 20 steem to give you an idea of ​​the critical situation in the country. that's why it tries to help all the people of venezuela that you can, because we really need it. I hope the Ballaenas with great voting power will support the people of my country more often, because we really need it.
used to work as an announcer here in Venezuela, although I also repaired computers at the hardware and software level.
to convert the steem I use exchange houses like @ steem-pays that make the change from sbd to the local currency, and if not, using bittrex, blocktrades or any other exchanger and changing the currency to local money to be able to obtain the income, So I have to live as we can, many people in Venezuela are doing the same thing.
hey friend, thank you very much for your support, you make the difference, with your support I can buy food for 2 days, very grateful for your good will !. :D

Thanks a million for your help dear sir :)

No need to thank me, every human deserves to know they'll be able to eat at the end of the day!
Stay strong brother :)

What ?? 4 years in relation and broke up. I hope not because you choose the campus. But Never mind.. The important thing is you have to relate well with anyone even though 25 percent of you think is missing, you still have a 75 percent and you can add it with friends, family or the new girlfriend. Success always for you @cryptoeater

Yeah, it was hard but it was mainly because we were growing apart. I had less time for her and she had less time for me, and as we made new friends we grew apart even more haha

Thanks for the advice!

@cryptoeater thanks for shear your experience with us. It motive us stay blessed

This post has received a 8.69 % upvote from @boomerang.

This post has received a 1.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptoeater.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

appreciator payout in the amount of $36 STU, $79 USD.
jerrybanfield payout in the amount of $25 STU, $55 USD.
boomerang payout in the amount of $11 STU, $24 USD.
booster payout in the amount of $5 STU, $11 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $77 STU, $170 USD before curation, with approx. $19 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @cryptoeater and is by no means a judgement of your work.

A great experience @cryptoeater, great effort and much encouragement to continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56